Spring athletes honored at Memorial

Photo Submitted /Elkhart Memorial honored its spring athletes at a program Monday evening. Among those honored were (front from left): Morgan Dyer, Cadence Lee, Tatiana Ponce-Acevedo, DeJanea Johnson, Shelby Buss, Eva Morales and Tianna Roundtree. Back (from left): Abdessamed Boussaha, Neil Terrell, Javon Forester, Brandon Bailey, and Landon Lee. 

ELKHART — Elkhart Memorial High School named its award winners for spring sports on Monday evening.

Most valuable players were Landon Lee (baseball), Abdessamed Boussaha, Neil Terrell and Javon Forester (boys track), Shelby Buss and Cadence Lee (softball), Eva Morales (girls tennis), Tianna Roundtree and Morgan Dyer (girls track) and Brandon Bailey (boys golf).

Selected as the Male Athlete of the Year was Javon Forester and chosen as the Female Athlete of the Year was DeJanea Johnson.



Baseball: MVP – Landon Lee. Captains – Caden Ewen, Landon Lee. Defensive excellence award – Dylan Rost. Offensive excellence award – Lee. Pitching excellence award – Matthew McQueen. Most RBIs – Lee. Most runs scored – Rost. Best ERA – Drew Pressler. Dick Siler sportsmanship award – Ewen, Thompson. JV offensive excellence award – Dominic Buoscio. JV defensive excellence award – Gavin Terrazas. JV pitching excellence award – Ryan Blodgett. JV Charger pride award – Corey Beadle. JV most improved – Buoscio.

Boys track: MVP running – Abdessamed Boussaha, Neil Terrell. MVP field events – Javon Forester. Captains – Juan Cepero, Joshua Ekema, Forester. Most improved – Derrick Woods. Mental attitude – Damien Funnell. Extra mile award – Hazael Morales, Terrell. Outstanding underclassmen award – Luis Cruz-Portillo.

Girls softball: MVP – Shelby Buss, Cadence Lee. Captains – Ashley Asher, Buss, Lee. Defensive excellence – Leeah Wade. Offensive excellence – Lee. Pitching excellence – Buss. Mental attitude – Morgan Kast. Most RBIs – Amber Asher. Most runs – Ashley Asher. Best ERA – Buss. Most strikeouts – Wade. Most improved – Hannah Goldsborough.

Boys lacrosse: Mental attitude – Ahmed Al-Shimari. Best defensive player – Carlos Lopez-Chavez. Best offensive player – Nathan Brekke. Most improved player – Landon Hartman. 

Girls tennis: MVP – Eva Morales. Captains – Megan Huys, Morales. Most improved – Callan Kubiak. Mental attitude – Abby Wolschlager. 

Girls track: MVP field events – Tianna Roundtree. MVP running – Morgan Dyer. Captains – Dyer, Mya Reeves, Roundtree. Mental attitude – Laila Nagy. Extra mile award – Jennifer Diaz. Most improved – Kelsey Knowlton. Outstanding underclassman award – Madison Axsom.

Boys golf: MVP – Brandon Bailey. Captains – Bailey, Michael Troyer. Most improved – Corben Shrock. Mental attitude – Dan Wolschlager. Most pars – Bailey, Christopher Troyer. Lowest stroke average – Bailey. JV most improved player – Kristopher Kemble. JV mental attitude – Ethen Benbow. 

Unified track: Captains – Logan Mullins, John Rehmels, Julian Willams. Most improved – Malachi Malone. Mental attitude – Sabrina Wakeman. Best teammate – Abbigail Bradley. Sportsmanship – Jeanne Elliott. Best winning spirit  – Tati Ponce-Acevedo. 

Special awards: 60 years coaching recognition – Jim Eger. Senior Female Athlete of the Year – DeJanea Johnson. Senior Male Athlete of the Year – Javon Forester. Kiwanis Female Athlete of the Year – Johnson. Kiwanis Male Athlete of the Year – Forester. Catherine Wolf Award nominee – Johnson. Tim Bringle Award nominee - Forester.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.