Memorial honors fall athletes

Elkhart Memorial High school named its Most Valuable Players for the fall sports season on Wednesday. Pictured front (from left): Veronica Ocampo, Courtney King, DeJanea Johnson, Darci Lindhe and Morgan Dyer. Back (from left): Neil Terrell, Hazael Morales, Brandon Bailey, Felipe Zendejas, John Rehmels and Derrick Woods. 

ELKHART — Elkhart Memorial High School honored its fall athletes at a banquet on Wednesday.

Selected as team Most Valuable Players were Courtney King (girls golf), Brandon Bailey (boys tennis), Morgan Dyer (girls cross country), Hazael Morales and Neil Terrell (boys cross country), Veronica Ocampo (girls soccer), Felipe Zendejas (boys soccer), DeJanea Johnson (volleyball), Derrick Woods (football-offensive), John Rehmels (football-defensive) and Darci Lindhe (cheerleading).



Girls golf: MVP – Courtney King. Captains – Micah Baker, King. Mental attitude – Morgan Kast. Most improved – Lily Ball. Most pars – King. JV mental attitude – Natalie Wolschlager.

Boys tennis: MVP – Brandon Bailey. Captains – Chris Troyer, Michael Troyer. Most improved – Jesus Hernandez. Mental attitude – Zach O'Lena. JV mental attitude – Brad Walker. 

Girls cross country: MVP – Morgan Dyer. Captains – Kallie Canfield, Dyer. Most improved – Jessica Corredor-Leon. Mental attitude – Gabriella Scott. Outstanding underclassman – Rachel Terrell.

Boys cross country: MVP – Hazael Morales, Neil Terrell. Captains – Juan Cepero, Joshua Ekema. Outstanding underclassman – Teagen Rodriguez. Mental attitude – Eric Stansbury. Most improved – Vincent Williams.

Girls soccer: MVP – Veronica Ocampo. Captains – Ocampo, Ma'Elena Perez-Garcia. Mental attitude – Sarai Sagastume. Sportsmanship award – Precious Chigwada. Defensive standout – Perez-Garcia. Offensive standout – Maria Romo Tenopala. Midfielder standout – Ocampo. 

Boys soccer: MVP – Felipe Zendejas. Captains – Zendejas, Brandon Vargas. Coach's award – Christian Banuelos. Mental attitude - Adolfo Lopez-Moreno. Defensive standout - Damian Vargas. Forward standout - Caleb Ashworth. Midfielder standout - Joseph Collins. 

Volleyball: MVP - DeJanea Johnson. Captains - Johnson, Shelby Buss. Mental attitude - Ashley Asher. Best offensive player - Laney Austin. Best defensive player - Emily Anderson. Best kill efficiency % - Austin. Most assists - Margaret Wiegand. Most digs - Anderson. Most blocks - Austin. Most kills - Johnson. Most serving aces - Wiegand. Outstanding JV player - Felisha Campanello. JV mental attitude - Cassandra Thrash. Freshman mental attitude - Abby Wolschlager. 

Football: MVP offensive - Derrick Woods. MVP defensive - John Rehmels. Captains - Tyler Lehner, Dylan Rost, Breydan Weston. Silcott offensive lineman - Juanyae Hudson. Silcott defensive lineman - Cameron Lightner. Jim MacKenzie mental attitude - Zayris Dillon. Dale Rems Scholarship - Javon Forrester. Outstanding offensive back - Ivan Soeun. Outstanding defensive back - D'Arjon Lewis. Outstanding defensive linebacker - Clayton Lundy. Special teams player of the year - Alex Ploner. Scout team player of the year - Connor Spry, Carlos Lopez-Chavez. Coaches "Charger Pride" - Tyler Lehner.

Fall cheerleaders: MVP – Darci Lindhe. Captains – Lindhe, Breanna Nalls. Mental attitude – Emma Masten. Most improved  – J'nai Broadnax. Most spirited – Alicia Rameriz Campbell. Best teammate – Jadyn Jackson. Role model – Veronica Acosta. Outstanding dedication – Marley Pontius. JV Charger spirit – Jazmine Carillo. JV most improved – Jeanna Copsey. JV mental attitude – Ashlyn Hostetter. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.