Jimtown hands out sports awards


ELKHART — Kelly Brooks and Clay Landis were named SAM (scholastic, academic, mental) Award winners for 2015-16 during the Jimtown High School spring sports awards program.

Shawntel James and Jake Vicsik received the Mutt Moore awards.

MVPs included Trevor Hobbs in baseball; Kaylee Pletcher and Caity Withrow in softball; Stephanie Aller and Hannah Gasper in girls tennis; Kenny Kerrn, Dalton Whitman and Sam Pawlak in boys track; James, Cassidy Stose and Julie Burkholder in girls track; and Tyler Wenger and Ryan Mott in boys golf.

Mental attitude recipients were Clint Whitman, Katie Woods, Anna Pope, Brian Hernandez, Caroline Gunnarsson and Hunter Price.

Cited as most improved were Ben Hurtt (co-baseball), Collin Gordon (co-baseball), Kimmie Winter, Taylor Konrath, Nathan Hochstetler, Arianna Maxie and Trae Brubaker.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.