Gov. Eric Holcomb may have equaled a modern plurality record with his 57-32 percent win over Democrat Woody Myers and Libertarian Donald Rainwater, who notched 15 percent (with 96 percent of precincts counted).

In 1992, Democrat Gov. Evan Bayh defeated Attorney General Linley Pearson by a 25.1 percent margin, though Holcomb’s 1.576 million votes bests Bayh’s 1.382 million votes. While Bayh had to deal with a split 50/50 House and a Republican Senate following his landslide, Gov. Holcomb enters his second term with super majorities in the House and Senate, the GOP holding every Statehouse constitutional office, a 9-2 advantage in the congressional delegation, 71 out of 115 mayors, and north of 80 percent of county courthouse offices and above 90 percent of county commissioners.

Brian A. Howey is publisher of Howey Politics Indiana at Find him on Facebook and Twitter @hwypol.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.