ELKHART — Michiana Forty Under 40 recognized those called this year’s most talented and dedicated young executives, professionals and leaders, demonstrating career success and community engagement, all before the age of 40.

The 2019 class saw its 500th honoree and marks the program’s 13th year.

The program is an annual collaborative effort between the South Bend Regional Chamber, Young Professionals Network South Bend as well as other partners and chambers in the Michiana region including Gates Automotive, First State Bank, Community Foundation of Elkhart County and Allied Physicians.

Reicipients of this year’s award were Megan Applegate, Applegate & Co., CPAs; Matthew Bennett, Schneider Clinic; Joel Boehner, IN*SOURCE (Indiana Resource Center for Families with Special Needs, Inc.); George Bonin, Trutility; Janee Carlile, Bradley Company; Krista Cox, Plews Shadley Racher & Braun LLP; Lela Crawford-Benson, Rooted Sparrow; Jennifer Deranek, Indiana University South Bend; Mark Doerries, University of Notre Dame; Meggan Fink, Kem Krest; Amber Grundy, Camp Fire River Bend; Melanie Hackett, South Bend Community School Corporation; Iris Hammel, RISE Regional Innovation and Startup Education; Kristine Jennings, Beacon Health System Memorial Hospital; Eric Jensen, Ancon Construction; Ryan Jessen, United Federal Credit Union; Jaren Kilian, Clay Fire Territory; Patrick Lee, Kruggel Lawton CPAs; Jonathan Leist, Town of Culver; Aaron Leniski, Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation; Lucas Miles, Miles Media, Inc.; Wes Molyneaux, Elkhart Community Schools; Cherri Peate, City of South Bend; Nick Pittman, Trine University; Kimberly Green Reeves, Beacon Health System Community Impact; Sarah Rice, Ivy Tech Community College; Adam Riggenbach, Tyler’s Carstar Collision Center; Angie Rupchock-Schafer, Marshall County Community Foundation; Amber Ruszkowski, Ivy Tech Community College; Matthew Schramm, Warrick & Boyn, LLP; Brian Snell, Valley Screen Process Co., Inc.; Dionna Topps, Whirlpool Corporation; Alexander Uryga, Michigan City High School; Amy Varga, Centier Bank; Nathan Vogel, Inovateus Solar LLC; Cory White, Realty Group Resources; Elizabeth Willkom, Nuner Fine Arts Academy, South Bend Schools; Jordan Willsey, ITR Concession Company, LLC; Leslie Yates, Crowe LLP; and Jeremiah Zartman, University of Notre Dame.

The 2019 Michiana Forty under 40 class was honored at a recognition luncheon, sponsored by Allied Physicians of Michiana, on Thursday at the Northern Indiana Event Center in Elkhart.

In addition to all honorees receiving their award and recognition, Andrew Wiand, the South Bend Regional Chamber’s 2019 Outstanding Young Business Leader and former Michiana Forty under 40 recipient, delivered a brief address.

Wiand is also the executive director of EnFocus.

Recipients are selected based on initiative and dedication in pursuing their career, proven success and achievement in their job and career, investment in and service to others through their involvement in civic, charitable and/or religious organizations, passion for their community, giving back because of that passion.

Recipients must live and work in Michiana or have lived in the Michiana region.

Nominees may be eligible in the career sectors of education, health care, business and professional, social services and not-for-profit, government and public service, financial services and law.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.