New, returning Goshen council members take oath

Goshen Mayor Jeremy Stutsman, left, prepares to swear in newly elected Councilman Gilberto Perez Jr. as councilmen Matt Schrock and Brett Weddell take their seats.

GOSHEN — Three new Goshen Common Council members and four returning ones were sworn in during the first meeting of the year Tuesday.

Newly elected representatives Matt Schrock, Megan Eichorn and Gilberto Perez Jr. joined Julia King, Doug Nisley, Jim Mckee and Brett Weddell. Weddell was later elected council president.

They were sworn in by recently re-elected Mayor Jeremy Stutsman and new Clerk-Treasurer Adam Scharf.

It had been an uneventful election for those who ran unopposed, including Stutsman, McKee and Perez. For Schrock, who won his District 3 seat by only two votes, it was a tense four weeks as he awaited the results of a court-ordered recount.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.