GOSHEN — Elkhart Civic Theatre announce its upcoming production of “The Music Man” to be performed at the Goshen College Umble Center July 12, 13 and 14 in four performances including two matinées.

The show is directed by Stephanie and Steve Salisbury. Matt Manley is chorographer, Brian Mast is music director and Sandy Hill is vocal director.

Winner of five Tony Awards in 1957, “The Music Man” has continued to be a perennial favorite for audiences around the world, theater officials said.

This is particularly true in the Elkhart County area, due to Elkhart’s history as a band instrument manufacturing center.

Elkhart Civic Theatre was the first Elkhart County theatre to produce “The Music Man” in 1968, with local businessman Dewey Welch in the title role. Since then, there have been three more Elkhart Civic Theatre productions of the classic, with the fifth one running this July.

Set in the summer of 1912, The Music Man is the story of traveling conman Harold Hill, who attempts to swindle the Iowa town of River City by promising to create a local boys’ band – to keep the young ones out of the “terrible trouble they’re in.” He is tripped up by Marian Paroo, the local librarian with whom he falls in love.

Constantly dodging the mayor, the school board and a vengeful anvil salesman, Harold wins his share of enemies – and hearts – by the show’s conclusion.

The 2019 Elkhart Civic Theatre cast includes:

Harold Hill – Dustin Crump

Marian Paroo – Kelly Olson

Marcellus Washburn – Justin Christensen

Tommy Djilas – Conner Schroeder

Zaneeta Shinn – Kellie MacGowan

Mrs. Paroo – Susan South

Winthrop Paroo – Emma Bowling

Amaryllis – Lyssa Yoder

Gracie Shinn – Elisa Kurtz

Mayor Shinn – Kevin Smith

Eulalie Mackecknie Shinn – Sandi Pontius

Charlie Cowell – Tony Venable

Conductor/Constable Locke – Jeff Tryka


Ethel Toffelmier – Katharine Robey

Maud Dunlop – Rachel Raska Selle

Mrs. Squires – Lisa Guedea Carreño

¬Alma Hix – Karen Mullin


Ewart Dunlop – Zach Rivers

Oliver Hix – Christian Elias

Jacey Squires – Stephen Salisbury

Olin Britt – David Robey


Bianca Orué

Fancy Blanchard

Brett Noneman

Beth Kallimani

Amber Pauls

Jamie Cooper

Katie Peat

Genevieve Carreño

Kelsey Crump

Brooke Babcock

William Pontius

Hannah Shetler

Andrew Galang

Sophia Sherrill

Sonia Morales

Brock Weston

Skye Steury

Anya Noneman

Heaven Coffman

Izabella Coffman

Abby Peat

Madelyn Peat

Libby Eichorn

Kala Key

Abigail Johnson

Audrey Quimby

Performances are at 7:30 p.m. July 13 and 13 and at 3 p.m. July 13 and 14.

Tickets for The Music Man are now on sale at elkhartcivictheatre.org, or by calling 574-848-4116 weekday afternoons.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.