Tuesday, September 23, 2014

New Paris Speedway offers $20,000 to winner

Winner of 100-lap race wins $20,000.

Posted on Aug. 6, 2014 at 9:09 a.m.

NEW PARIS — A big payday will be handed out to the winner of a 100-lap feature race at the New Paris Speedway on Thursday, Aug. 7.

The track’s annual Summer Sizzler will feature a field of 21 late model stock cars for the 100 lap race, with the winner receiving a $20,000 check, which is one of the highest payouts in the country for a quarter-mile track.

In addition, Lippert Components is offering another $1,000 for the fastest lap of the night, whether it’s in hot laps, qualifying or during the race itself.

According to track public relations director Sabrina Rife, this will be the 13th year the track has hosted the Summer Sizzler, which has seen as many as 75 cars show up to try and make the feature race.

"The fastest 20 qualifiers will advance to the feature, then we’ll have a last-chance race with all the other late model cars at the track and they’ll race for the final spot in the field,” Rife said. “I don’t think we’ll get 75 cars again, but we’re hoping to have a very strong car count.”

Rife said the tradition of the Summer Sizzler being run on a Thursday night was to make sure there were no other races being run in the area, as most small tracks race Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights.

Mishawaka’s Tyler Roahrig is the two-time defending champion of the event, but he is sidelined this year after a serious early-season crash at the Anderson Speedway. Roahrig is the only two-time winner of the race, although his father, J.R. Roahrig, won in 2011.

Among the top drivers at New Paris this year is late model points’ leader Steve Stacy of Plymouth and rookie Derek Lundgren of Elkhart.

In addition to the late model show, there will be a $1,000 prize given to the winner of the evening’s Sportsman feature.

Gates open at noon Thursday, with qualifying at 5 p.m. and racing at 7.


Updated on Sept. 22, 2014 at 12:18 p.m.

Updated on Sept. 21, 2014 at 10:44 p.m.
 In this photo provided by NHRA, Tony Schumacher drives to victory in Top Fuel at the delayed Pep Boys NHRA Carolina Nationals on Saturday, Sept. 20, 2014, at Texas Motorplex in Ennis, Texas. Schumacher earned his 75th career victory when he defeated Khalid alBalooshi in the final round of the race that was originally started one week ago at zMAX Dragway in Charlotte, N.C. (AP Photo/NHRA, Randy Anderson)
Updated on Sept. 21, 2014 at 6:51 p.m.
Back to top ^