Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Elkhart Memorial's Tieshawn Johnson defeated NorthWood's Michael Leonard in the 195-lb championship. Elkhart Memorial hosted wrestling sectionals at Memorial Fieldhouse, and were the overall winners on Saturday, Feb. 1 2014 in Elkhart. Johnson goes into the Goshen Regional on Saturday, Feb. 8, at 31-0. (James Buck/The Elkhart Truth)

Fairfield's Forrest Glogouski (yellow singlet) defeated Concord's DeLawrance Gayfield in the 120-pound championship at the Elkhart Sectional wrestling tournament on Saturday, Feb. 1. Going into the Goshen Regional Saturday, Feb. 8, Glogouski is 34-1 and Gayfield 30-1. (James Buck/The Elkhart Truth) (Buy this photo)

Individual champion wrestlers from the Elkhart Sectional are: (from left, front row) Fairfield's Blake Glogouski (106 pounds), Goshen's Scotty Huff (113), Fairfield's Forrest Glogouski (120), Elkhart Memorial's Tony Vaughn (126), Jimtown's Konner Chafin (132), Northridge's Jon Yoder (138) and Northridge's Ryan Baxter (145); (Second row) Jimtown's Cameron Weiss (152), Elkhart Memorial's Nick Ritchie (160), Elkhart Memorial's Jon Osoria (170), Elkhart Memorial's David Eli (182), Elkhart Memorial's Tieshawn Johnson (195), Elkhart Central's Eliseo Guerra (220) and Elkhart Central's Isaac Barrios (Hwt). Elkhart Memorial hosted wrestling sectionals at Memorial Fieldhouse, and were the overall winners on Saturday, Feb. 1 2014 in Elkhart. (James Buck/The Elkhart Truth) (Buy this photo)
Wrestlers eyes regional titles, advancement

Posted on Feb. 6, 2014 at 8:13 p.m.

The last time Elkhart Memorial's Tieshawn Johnson and Fairfield's Forrest Glogouski came to the Goshen Regional wrestling tournament, they left the Goshen High School gym as champions.

Johnson reigned at 195 pounds and Glogouski won at 120 in 2013 and moved on to the Fort Wayne Semistate.

Both Johnson (31-0) and Glogouski (34-1) are back at the same weight classes as seniors and will be among the 112 grapplers — qualifiers from the Elkhart and Westview sectionals — vying for a top-four finish at the Goshen Regional on Saturday, Feb. 8, and a trip the 2014 semistate.

Three other Truth-area wrestlers at Goshen go in with only one loss each so far this season — Concord senior DeLawrence Gayfield (30-1 at 120), Jimtown senior Konner Chafin (35-1 at 132) and Northridge senior Ryan Baxter (34-1 at 145).

Fremont senior Tylor Willms (31-0 at 152) joins Johnson as the only undefeated wrestlers in the Goshen field.

East Noble is the defending team champion at Goshen.

At the Rochester Regional, where Penn is the defending team champion, Penn seniors Zack Davis (32-2) and Jeff Wiseman (31-5) are back after taking regional crowns at 113 and 170, respectively in 2013. This time around, Davis is a 126-pounder and Wiseman competes at 182.

Penn 170-pound junior Chase Osborn is 30-1.

Two athletes athletes go to Mishawaka with spotless records —- Mishawaka seniors Jake Sinkovics (29-0 at 120) and Tristan Macri (30-0 at 152).

Qualifiers from the Rochester Regional move on the Merrillville Semistate.

Area Wrestling Regionals

At Goshen

Saturday, Feb. 8, 9:30 a.m.

Area Qualifiers

106: Blake Glogouski (Fairfield) 34-2; Jaron Katzer (Goshen) 28-8; Johnny Attkisson (Elkhart Memorial) 20-7; Chaz Boyd (Elkhart Central) 7-14; Billy Raley (Westview) 28-10.

113: Scotty Huff (Goshen) 32-3; Eugene Moody Neukom (Elkhart Memorial) 11-5; Emanuel Olvera (NorthWood) 21-10; Jake Egnor (Elkhart Central) 18-13; John Mullett (Westview) 9-4.

120: Forrest Glogouski (Fairfield) 34-1; Delawerence Gayfield (Concord) 30-1; Marcus Mejia (Elkhart Memorial) 25-9; Logan Maynard (Goshen) 17-14.

126: Tony Vaughn (Elkhart Memorial) 20-5; Jay Franko (Jimtown) 24-4; Trever Yoder (Fairfield) 31-6; Mr. Wilcher (Goshen) 28-6; Dalton Misner (Westview) 27-9.

132: Konner Chafin (Jimtown) 35-1; Joel Byler (Goshen) 25-7; Blade Corpe (Elkhart Memorial) 12-8; Chris Howe (Northridge) 17-13.

138: Jon Yoder (Northridge) 24-4; Zeke Torres (Elkhart Central) 17-6; Kenny Kerrn (Jimtown) 23-12; Phillip Mathiak (Elkhart Memorial) 13-16.

145: Ryan Baxter (Northridge) 26-1; Garrett Griffen (NorthWood) 22-7; Marquis Schieber (Jimtown) 25-5; Victor Flores (Goshen) 16-12.

152: Cameron Weiss (Jimtown) 27-7; Chris Morris (Elkhart Memorial) 19-7; Anthony Hardman (Elkhart Central) 14-12; Leandro Rodriguez (Concord) 17-12; Lucas Hunter (Westview) 29-8.

160: Nick Ritchie (Elkhart Memorial) 13-3; Derek Weldy (NorthWood) 14-7; Austin Turner (Fairfield) 13-18; Brody Miller (Northridge) 8-14; Logan Good (Westview) 11-8.

170: Jon Osoria (Elkhart Memorial) 19-8; John Trenshaw (Goshen) 27-3; Dylan Swank (Northridge) 19-11; Alex Troup (Jimtown) 20-11.

182: David Eli (Elkhart Memorial) 22-7; Evan Smith (Goshen) 24-8; Logan Bontrager (Northridge) 14-11; Michael Rockenbaugh (Concord) 10-10.

195: Tieshawn Johnson (Elkhart Memorial) 31-0; Michael Leonard (NorthWood) 14-8; Ramiro Hernandez (Goshen) 21-11; Jesus Nunez (Elkhart Central) 15-15.

220: Eliseo Guerra (Elkhart Central) 27-2; Derek Paz (Goshen) 29-6; Isaac Zickafoose (Northridge) 25-4; Hector Villegas (Concord) 12-13.

Hwt: Isaac Barrios (Elkhart Central) 6-3; Jose Montanez (Goshen) 14-7; Nick Mammolenti (Jimtown) 16-13; Tevis McDonald (Elkhart Memorial) 13-13; Michael Yankosky (Westview) 27-9.

Advancement: Top 4 placers in each weight class advances to Fort Wayne Semistate on Saturday, Feb. 15.

At Rochester

Saturday, Feb. 8, 9 a.m.

Area Qualifiers

106: Drew Hildebrandt (Penn) 28-3.

113: Austin Slates (Penn) 30-9.

120: Jarrett Selis (Penn) 24-12; Will Felix (Marian) 24-9.

126: Zack Davis (Penn) 32-2.

132: Cameron Beam (Penn) 23-12.

138: Jarod Swank (Penn) 30-7; Derek Glon (Marian) 26-4.

145: Tommy Varner (Penn) 28-10.

152: Alex Rinehart (Penn) 31-5.

160: Joey Mammolenti (Penn) 30-2.

170: Chase Osborn (Penn) 30-1.

182: Jeff Wiseman (Penn) 31-5.

195: Kobe Woods (Penn) 33-2.

220: Clayton Stohler (Penn) 27-4; P.J. Ernst (Marian) 29-9.

Hwt: Cory Christman (Penn) 19-5.

Top 4 placers in each weight class advances to Merrillville Semistate on Saturday, Feb. 15.

Cost: $7 (each site).

Officials Assignments

St. Joseph Valley Officials Association: Troy Hahn (Crown Point), Henry Wilk (Crown Point), Craig Bultemeier (Carroll), Barry Woodward (Goshen), Rod Morgan (Goshen), Jeff Colborn (Logansport), Roger Griffith (Logansport), Adam Tomlinson (Peru), Lars Sacquitne (Rochester), Ray Aldrich (Rochester).