Chargers run title streak to three

While the Crimson Chargers came into the meet Saturday, Feb. 1, with just two No. 1 seeds, they came away with five individual titles.

Posted on Feb. 1, 2014 at 10:17 p.m.

ELKHART — Elkhart Memorial was not ready to let go of its hold on the Elkhart Sectional wrestling title.

While the Crimson Chargers came into the meet Saturday, Feb. 1, with just two No. 1 seeds, they came away with five individual titles and two runner-up finishes in upping their sectional team championship streak to three. They now have 22 sectional crowns all-time.

Memorial beat out Goshen for the trophy 237.5 to 200.

The Chargers stayed focused even through snow days and the cancellation of the Northern Lakes Conference tournament.

First-year Chargers head coach Jim Ianarelli had his wrestlers in the practice room whenever travel was allowed, even if he had to give rides to some of his varsity athletes.

"The last few days have been frustrating that Mother Nature has not been cooperating," said Iannarelli, who saw Tieshawn Johnson (195), David Eli (182), Jon Osoria (195) Nick Ritchie (160) and Tony Vaughn (126) win sectional titles and Chris Morris (152) and Eugene Moody-Neukom (113) place second.

The top four placers in each weight class advanced to the Goshen Regional on Monday, Feb. 8.

Johnson and Ritchie were top seeds in their respective weight classes. Eli, Osoria and Vaughn were not.

Eli lost to Goshen's Evan Smith twice during the regular season. On Saturday, he won 9-3 in the finals.

"I've been preparing for him," said Eli, who said Memorial has benefited from intense practices, especially those led by assistant coach and former state champion Nick Corpe.

Vaughn bested Jimtown's Jay Franko 5-2 in the finals. The two have wrestled many times over the years.

"It's close every time," said Vaughn. "I knew the key was going going to be hand fighting."

Vaughn was a sectional champion at 145 in 2013. Memorial's Johnson, Fairfield brothers Forrest and Blake Glogouski, and Elkhart Central's Eliseo Guerra also won titles in 2014 after doing so in 2013.

Goshen's 2014 champion was Scotty Huff (113). After being on his back a few times, he pinned Moody-Neukom in the finals.

"I couldn't give up," said Huff. "It's my senior year. I couldn't go out not trying."

Northridge's Ryan Baxter (145) and Jon Yoder (138), Jimtown's Cameron Weiss (152) and Konner Chafin (132, and Central's Isaac Barris (Hwt) also won their weight divisions.

Chafin said the key to his title was staying calm and confident.

"I know I have balance," said Chafin. "I like to counter-wrestle."

Elkhart Sectional

(At Memorial)

Team scores (Goshen Regional qualifiers in parentheses): Elkhart Memorial 237.5 (12), Goshen 200 (11), Elkhart Central 162.5 (7), Northridge 158.5 (7), Jimtown 146 (7), Fairfield 118 (4), NorthWood 112 (4), Concord 62 (4)..

(Top 4 to Regional)

Championship Summary

106 — Blake Glogouski (F) pinned Jaron Katzer (G) 1:30. 113 — Scotty Huff (G) pinned Eugene Moody-Neukom (EM) 3:45. 120 — Forrest Glogouski (F) dec. DeLawrence Gayfield (Co) 8-4. 126 — Tony Vaughn (EM) dec. Jay Franko (J) 5-2. 132 — Konner Chafin (J) pinned Joel Byler (G) 3:09. 138 — Jon Yoder (Nr) dec. Zeke Torres (EC) 5-2. 145 — Ryan Baxter (Nr) maj. dec. Garrett Griffin (NW) 12-2.

152 — Cameron Weiss (J) dec. Chris Morris (EM) 9-5. 160 — Nick Ritchie (EM) maj. dec. Derek Weldy (NW) 9-0. 170 — Jon Osoria (EM) dec. John Trenshaw (G) 8-2. 182 —David Eli (EM) dec. Evan Smith (G) 9-3 . 195 — Tieshawn Johnson (EM) tech. fall Michael Leonard (NW) 21-6. 220 — Eliseo Guerra (EC) dec. Derek Paz (G) 3-1. Hwt — Isaac Barrios (EC) pinned Jose Montanez (G) 3:15..

Consolation Summary

106 — Johnny Attkisson (EM) pinned Chaz Boyd (EC) 1:51. 113 —Emanuel Olvera (NW) dec. Jake Egnor (EC) 10-6. 120 — Marcus Mejia (EM) maj. dec. Logan Maynard (G) 15-5. 126 — Trever Yoder (F) pinned Mr. Wilcher (G) 2:53. 132 — Blade Corpe (EM) pinned Chris Howe (Nr) 1:09. 138 — Kenny Kerrn (J) dec. Phillip Matthiak (EM) 9-8. 145 — Marquis Schieber (J) pinned Victor Flores (G) 3:05.

152 — Anthony Hardman (EC) dec. Leandro Rodriguez (Co) 8-7. 160 — Austin Turner (F) maj. dec. Brody Miller (Nr) 11-2. 170 — Dylan Swank (Nr) dec. Alex Troup (J) 8-2. 182 — Logan Bontrager (Nr) by injury default against Michael Rockenbaugh (Co). 195 — Ramiro Hernandez (G) dec. Jesus Nunez (EC) 7-1. 220 — Isaac Zickafoose (Nr) pinned Hector Villegas (Co) 3:50. Hwt — Nick Mammolenti (J) dec. Tevis McDonald (EM) 5-2.

Next: Qualifiers in Goshen Regional Saturday, Feb. 8.


Recommended for You

Greden Kelley Jimtown Manchester

Posted on May 10, 2016 at 3:40 p.m.
Sectional Wrestling 03

Posted on April 28, 2016 at 6:43 p.m.
Back to top ^