Wednesday, April 1, 2015



Scholarship winner

The award is given annually to a senior wrestler at an Elkhart County high school.

Steve Krah

Posted on March 30, 2015 at 4:34 p.m.
Fairfield Winter MVPs

Fairfield mental attitude award honors went to Hannah Jarvis, Janelle Miller, Dillon Yoder and Kegan Showalter.

Bill Beck

Posted on March 20, 2015 at 2:41 p.m.
Jay Franko

Several high school wrestlers from Elkhart County area schools were named to the 2014-15 Indiana academic all-state teams for their academic achievements.

Posted on Feb. 23, 2015 at 4:24 p.m.
Recommended for You
Posted on Feb. 23, 2015 at 5:49 p.m.

The salute is scheduled between the JV and varsity games between Marian and Penn.

Posted on Feb. 21, 2015 at 10:38 p.m.

Chase Osborn (182) and Kobe Woods (220) earn Kingsmen’s first individual titles since Al Dover and Jeff White in 1971 while Drew Hildebrandt (113) comes in second. Joey Mammolenti and Cory Christman both place fifth.

Posted on Feb. 20, 2015 at 10:37 p.m.

Nine high school wrestlers were all victorious in the single-elimination portion of the event and will return for the quarterfinals Saturday morning, Feb. 21.

Posted on Feb. 19, 2015 at 12:06 p.m.

Also heading to Indianapolis on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 20-21, are Penn’s Kory Cavanaugh, Jarod Swank, Joey Mammolenti and Cory Christman; Elkhart Memorial’s Tony Vaughn and David Eli; Jimtown’s Jay Franko and Marquis Schieber; Elkhart Central’s Eliseo Guerra; Fairfield’s Blake Glogouski; and NorthWood’s Tanner DeMien.

Posted on Feb. 14, 2015 at 9:45 p.m.

Besides champion Eliseo Guerra, Elkhart Memorial’s Tony Vaughn and David Eli, Jimtown’s Marquis Schieber and Fairfield’s Blake Glogouski were runners-up. Jimtown’s Jay Franko and NorthWood’s Tanner DeMien both came in fourth.

Posted on Feb. 14, 2015 at 9:43 p.m.

Kobe Woods, Chase Osborn, Joey Mammolenti, Drew Hildebrandt win titles while Cory Christman and Jarod Swank come in second and Kory Cavanaugh fourth.

Posted on Feb. 10, 2015 at 7:52 p.m.

The No. 2-ranked  220-pounder heads to the Fort Wayne Semistate with just two losses in 2014-15 — both one-point decisions to No. 1 Kobe Woods of Penn.

Posted on Feb. 7, 2015 at 9:17 p.m.

Elkhart County’s individual winners are Memorial’s Tony Vaughn, Marcus Mejia, Nick Ritchie and David Eli, Elkhart Central’s Eliseo Guerra, Jimtown’s Jay Franko and Marquis Schieber and NorthWood’s Tanner DeMien and Michael Leonard. 

Posted on Feb. 7, 2015 at 8:52 p.m.

Eight Kingsmen won their weight class titles.

Posted on Feb. 4, 2015 at 6:17 p.m.

Coming off a second straight Elkhart Sectional title, heavyweight wrestler Issac Barrios goes into the Goshen Regional on Saturday, Feb. 7, with a 24-3 record.

Under control

Posted on Feb. 3, 2015 at 10:27 a.m.
NorthWood Wawasee wrestling 155

Posted on Jan. 31, 2015 at 8:05 p.m.
Al Smith Classic Wrestling 0829

Posted on Jan. 31, 2015 at 8:05 p.m.
Westview Sectional

Posted on Jan. 31, 2015 at 8:05 p.m.