NLC recognizes top performers of 2014 baseball season

Daniel Asbury, Cameron Maxwell, Noah Pawlak and Jake Tucker represent the Crimson Chargers.

Posted on June 17, 2014 at 5:03 p.m.

GOSHEN — Co-champions Elkhart Memorial and NorthWood placed four players each on the 2014 all-Northern Lakes Conference baseball first team.

Daniel Asbury, Cameron Maxwell, Noah Pawlak and Jake Tucker represent the Crimson Chargers while Blake Cleveland, Tanner Cleveland, Will Kirkwood and Hunter Lane are Panther first-team selections.

Other area first-teamers include Concord's Brenden Curry, Nick DeFreese and Jake Baylis, Northridge's Jake Baylis and Andrew Kennedy, Wawasee's Gage Reinhard and Goshen's Deric Haynes.

NorthWood's Zach Benko was chosen as NLC Coach of the Year by his peers.


First team: jr. Daniel Asbury (Elkhart Memorial), jr. Cameron Maxwell (Elkhart Memorial), sr. Noah Pawlak (Elkhart Memorial), sr. Jake Tucker (Elkhart Memorial), sr. Blake Cleveland (NorthWood), so. Tanner Cleveland (NorthWood), sr. Will Kirkwood (NorthWood), sr. Hunter Lane (NorthWood), jr. Justin Drudge (Plymouth), sr. Jacob Frantz (Plymouth), sr. Blake Milliser (Plymouth), jr. Brenden Curry (Concord), sr. Nick DeFreese (Concord), jr. Jake Vernon (Concord), sr. Jake Baylis (Northridge), so. Andrew Kennedy (Northridge), sr. Brandon Shipp (Warsaw), sr. Caleb Heckaman (Warsaw), jr. Gage Reinhard (Wawasee), sr. Deric Haynes (Goshen).

Honorable mention: Elkhart Memorial — so. Jon Bailey, jr. Scottie Clark. NorthWood — sr. Tanner Farmwald, sr. Kyle McCoy. Plymouth — jr. Joe Dragani. Concord — sr. Matt Williams. Northridge — so. Andy Ross. Wawasee — sr. Gage Fannin. Goshen — sr. Jorge Pizana.

NLC Coach of the Year: Zach Benko (NorthWood).

Final NLC standings: Elkhart Memorial 10-4, NorthWood 10-4, Plymouth 9-5, Concord 8-6, Northridge 7-7, Warsaw 6-8, Wawasee 4-10, Goshen 2-12.

Recommended for You

Back to top ^