Monday, January 26, 2015

Spring MVPs, E Blanket winners among Elkhart Central honorees

Zepeda, VanderHoek, Cobb, Delks, Nolan, Harris, Johnson, White named most valuable in their sports.

Posted on June 12, 2014 at 3:59 p.m.

ELKHART —  Jesse Zepeda, Brittney VanderHoek, Kate Cobb, Ally Delks, Julie Nolan, Treyton Harris, Keion Johnson and Jenai White were each accorded team MVP accolades during the Elkhart Central Spring Sports and Honored Athlete Awards program Wednesday, June 11 at the school.

Besides spring awards, honors were bestowed based on the school year as a whole.

E Blankets, awarded based on a formula measuring career involvement and achievements, went to Cobb, Delks, Hannah Miers, Julie Nolan, White and Lorena Zelaya.

Also among those recognized, 131 athletes were cited as Scholar Athletes for carrying 3.5 grade point averages or better, and 48 were cited for being All-Northern Indiana Conference first-team, second-team or honorable-mention selections in 2013-14.


Top Cumulative Awards

E Blanket: Kate Cobb, Ally Delks, Hannah Miers, Julie Nolan, Jenai White, Lorena Zelaya.

Framed E: Amanda Dibley, Alex Downs, Katie Evans, Elesio Guerra, Martin Guerra, Anthony Hardman, Olivia Jenks, Donya McKinney, Nathan Munet, Caroline Oakley, Chet Samuels, Cassie Shelton, Azariah Stahl, Tre Taylor, Libby Tully, Brittney VanderHoek.

Spring Awards

Baseball: MVP — Jesse Zepeda. Mental attitude — Jon Hill. Captains — Mike Wain, Kyle Smith, Jesse Zepeda. Coaches Award — Colin Rudicil, Tyler Kucala. Dugout Award — Kennedy Futterknecht. Most improved — Raleigh Ball. Hustle — Max Fritz. Pitching — Micah Bowyer. Defensive — Andrew Salmon. Offensive — Kyle Smith. Quality AB — Jesse Zepeda.

Softball: MVPs — Brittney VanderHoek, Kate Cobb. Mental attitude — Allison Valentijn. Offense — Brittney VanderHoek. Defense — Audrey Garner. Most improved — Cydnee Prugh. Managers Award — Danjae Donaldson. Hustle — Celesta Ganger.

Boys golf: Mental attitude — Riley Keagle. Captain — Riley Keagle. Most improved — Jacob Gingrich. Coach Award — Dominic Massaro, Colin Dorsam. Best newcomer — Tyler Brown.

Girls tennis: MVP — Ally Delks, Julie Nolan. Mental attitude — Julie Nolan. Captain — Maggie Zinich. Most improved — Taylor Clarkson. Diane Dusthimer Award — Caroline Oakley. Doubles — Jane Mecklenburg. Find A Way — Gabby Nolan. JV mental attitude — Emery Lade. JV most improved — Mariah Guillaume.

Boys track: MVPs — Treyton Harris, Keion Johnson. Mental attitude — Nick Quarandillo. Captain — Javonte Henderson. Sprinter/hurdler — Elliott McCoy. Distance — Nathan Munet. Most improved — Riley Norris. Freshman of the Year — Eduardo Marin.

Girls track: MVP — Jenai White. Mental attitude — Olivia Jenks. Most improved — Katelyn Doloman. Coaches Award — Morgan Markel. Rookie — Makay Young. Captains — Olivia Jenks, Jenai White, Carol Weirich.


Baseball: Micah Bowyer, Max Fritz, Kennedy Futterknecht, Tyler Kucala, Colin Rudicil, Kyle Smith, Michael Wain, Jesse Zepeda, Jack Fann, Walter Griffin, Zach Ottavi, Kyle Short, Brandon Terry, Raleigh Ball, Jamal Scott, Andrew Salmon. Managers — Hollie Weidner, Arianna Bolten, Eddie Coddington, Jocelynn Padgett, Jarrett Himebaugh, Rhianna Medlen.

Softball: Brittney VanderHoek, Kate Cobb, Shaytia Messick, Libby Tully, Leah Gibson, Cydnee Prugh, Emily Namisnak, Allison Valentijn, Celesta Ganger, Audrey Garner, Ariel Waters, Karis Cochrane, Kelsey Cobb, Makayla Clark. Managers — Brdanjae Donaldson, Breann Beggs.

Boys golf: Riley Keagle, Jacob Gingrich, Dominic Massaro, Tyler Brown, Scott Ellis, Jon Lade, Colin Dorsam.

Girls tennis: Taylor Clarkson, Ally Delks, Jane Mecklenburg, Gabby Nolan, Julie Nolan, Caroline Oakley, Maggie Zinich. Managers — Olivia Haworth, Megan Pairitz.

Boys track: Antwaan Allen, Travis Barnes, Lincoln Bowers, Ian Fahrenkrog, Gavin George, Tim Gunderson, Anthony Hardman, Treyton Harris, Javonte Henderson, Zamir Hernandez, Evan Herr-Knispel, James Hinkle, Joe Holtz, Keion Johnson, Micah Johnson, Elliott McCoy, Nathan Munet, Hunter Niemzyk, Riley Norris, Nick Quarandillo, Chet Samuels, Max Schleining, Malik Scott, Tre Taylor, Eddie Tyler, Brian Vance, JT Webb.

Girls track: Nicole Batie, Destiny Bonds, Cleo Cochrane, Jasmine Cotton, Eyhana Curry, Emily Decker, Amanda Dibley, Staci Dibley, Katelyn Dolomon, Alex Downs, Katie Evans, Nicole Evans, Latoria House, Nautica Jeffries, Olivia Jenks, Brianna Jones, Sarahi Lopez, Morgan Markel, Donya McKinney, Anndrea Palmer, Maddie Vaught, Carol Weirich, Jenai White, Aleiyah Williams, Libby Yeakey, Gabi Yoder, Makaya Young, Lorena Zellaya, Rachell Zelaya. Manager — Rachelle Routson.

Recommended for You

On the mat

Posted on Jan. 24, 2015 at 10:06 p.m.

Posted on Jan. 24, 2015 at 7:45 p.m.

Posted on Jan. 24, 2015 at 10:03 p.m.
Back to top ^