Marian's Makris three-peats as NIC golf MVP

Elkhart Central’s Riley Keagle selected to first team, along with Harman, Hartnagel.

Posted on June 10, 2014 at 7:18 p.m.

SOUTH BEND — Marian senior Michael Makris has three-peated as Northern Indiana Conference MVP in boys golf.

Makris is joined on the All-NIC first team, his fourth such selection, by Elkhart Central senior Riley Keagle and a trio of sophomores in Knights teammate Augie Hartnagel, Penn’s Blake Harman and South Bend St. Joseph’s Will DeTrempe.

Marian’s Brent Dennison was voted Coach of the Year by his league peers.

Makris was also outright MVP in 2013 and shared the honor in 2012.

The Knights and Kingsmen tied for the NIC overall title, with Marian winning the tourney after Penn went 8-0 in conference duals.


(Senior unless noted)

First team: Michael Makris (Marian), Augie Hartnagel (Marian so.), Riley Keagle (Elkhart Central), Will DeTrempe (SB St. Joseph so.), Blake Harman (Penn so.).

Second team: Nick Thurin (Penn so.), Richard Jung (Penn), Tate Heintzelman-Dee (St. Joseph so.), John Herman (Mishawaka), Austin Luft (SB Riley jr.).

Area honorable mention: Justin Holt (Penn jr.), Kyle Killilea (Marian so.).

MVP: Makris.

Coach of the Year: Brent Dennison (Marian).

Final standings: Penn 2 (8-0 duals, 317 in league meet), Marian 2 (7-1, 308), SB St. Joseph 5 (6-2, 329), SB Adams 9 (4-4, 345), SB Riley 10 (4-4, 347), Mishawaka 341 (2-6, 341), Elkhkart Central 13 (4-4, 412), SB Clay 15 (1-7, 403), SB Washington 15 (0-8, 387).

Recommended for You

Back to top ^