Friday, April 29, 2016

Haylei Snelson of Penn, photographed in a match against Concord, was named the MVP on the 2014 All-Northern Indiana Conference tennis team. (Larry Tebo / The Elkhart Truth, file photo)
Penn's Haylei Snelson named MVP of Northern Indiana Conference girls tennis

Posted on June 4, 2014 at 1:15 p.m.

SOUTH BEND — Penn junior Haylei Snelson has been named MVP for 2014 Northern Indiana Conference girls tennis.

Besides Snelson, area all-NIC first teamers include Penn doubles partners, senior Cameron Moore and sophomore Amanda Ahmed, and Marian junior Megan Murphy.

Bill Mountford of champion South Bend St. Joseph was chosen by his peers as NIC Coach of the Year.

All-NIC Girls Tennis

First team: Singles — jr. Haylei Snelson (Penn), so. Mary Mullaney (St. Joseph), sr. Haley Powers (St. Joseph), jr. Megan Murphy (Marian). Doubles — sr. Cameron Moore/so. Amanda Ahmed, sr. Sid Corrigan/sr. Maddie Minaudo (St. Joseph).

Second team: Singles — sr. Kylee Karczewski (Washington), jr. Taylor Clarkson (Elkhart Central), fr. Tayla Brown (Penn). Doubles — jr. Kristen Pascual/fr. Talle Corrigan (St. Joseph), sr. Ally Delks/sr. Julie Nolan (Elkhart Central).

Area honorable mention: Singles — sr. Bailey Oppman (Penn), jr. Maria Tordi (Marian). Doubles — jr. Lauren McCarthy/so. Emma Moon (Penn), sr. Elly Ericson/jr. Maggie Lowenhar (Marian).

NIC MVP: Haylei Snelson (Penn).

NIC Coach of the Year: Bill Mountford (St. Joseph).

Final NIC standings: St. Joseph 8-0, Penn 7-1, Marian 6-2, Elkhart Central 5-3, Adams 4-4, Washington 3-5, Clay 2-6, Riley 1-7, Mishawaka 0-8.