Sunday, February 14, 2016

Demetrius Jackson Cutout 2011-2012 Marian varsity basketball (Truth Photo By J. Tyler Klassen) (AP)
Marian’s Jackson named first team All-State

Posted on April 2, 2013 at 1:00 a.m. | Updated on April 2, 2013 at 11:36 a.m.

Associated Press

INDIANAPOLIS — Hamilton Southeastern’s Zak Irvin and Evansville Mater Dei’s Maura Muensterman are the top vote getters for The Associated Press’ Indiana all-state basketball teams.

Those teams are selected based on voting by representatives from AP media members and observations by experts in the state.

Demetrius Jackson of Marian was selected to the first team on the boys team.

Jackson averaged 26.8 points, 5.7 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 2.6 steals for the Knights. He shot 59 percent on 2s, 39 percent on 3s and 81 percent at the line.

Irvin, a Michigan recruit, averaged 24.6 points and 7.3 rebounds per game. Muensterman, a junior who’s committed to Indiana, averaged 22.0 points and 6.9 assists per game and helped her team win the Class 2A state title.

Other first-team boys are Carmel’s Michael Volovic, Indianapolis Park Tudor’s Trevon Blueitt and Indianapolis Tech’s Trey Lyles.

Other first-team girls are Whitney Jennings of Logansport, Stephanie Mavunga of Brownsburg, Bridget Perry of Indianapolis Roncalli and Taya Reimer of Hamilton Southeastern.

Volovic, who will walk on at Butler, was the point guard on Carmel’s back-to-back Class 4A championship teams.

Jackson has been selected to play in the McDonald’s All American game.

A pair of juniors, Blueitt and Lyles, are high-level national prospects who are undecided on their college choices.

Boys second team selections include three seniors: Mike Crawford of Tipton (Saint Louis), Bryson Scott of Fort Wayne Northrop (Purdue) and Darryl Baker of Jeffersonville (undecided). Juniors Ja’Quan Lyle of Evansville Bosse and James Blackmon of Fort Wayne Luers (Indiana verbal commitment) round out the second team.

The boys third team includes four seniors: Collin Hartman of Class 4A runner-up Indianapolis Cathedral (Indiana), Castle’s Blake Simmons (Evansville), New Haven’s V.J. Beachem (Notre Dame) and Class 1A runner-up Triton’s Clay Yeo (Valparaiso). The lone junior on the third team is Bryant McIntosh of Class 3A champion Greenburg (Indiana State commitment).

On the girls first team, Mavunga, the Indianapolis Star’s Miss Basketball, averaged 23.2 points per game as a senior and will play college ball at North Carolina. Perry will play for Purdue and Reimer will head to Notre Dame.

Second-team selections are Celeste Edwards of Marion North Central (Dayton), Jill Morrison of Winchester (Ball State), Ariana Simmons of Class 4A runner-up Fort Wayne South Side (IPFW) and Dakota Weatherford of Class 3A runner-up Hamilton Heights (Evansville).

Third-team picks include three seniors: Lebanon’s Katie Curtis (Colgate), Andrijana Cvitkovic of Culver Academy (Dayton) and Sullivan’s Rhagen Smith (Indiana State). Mount Vernon (Fortville) junior Erica Moore and Columbus North sophomore Ali Patberg round out the third team.

Indiana all-state BOys


Zak Irvin, 6-8, Sr., Hamilton Southeastern

Trevon Blueitt, 6-5, Jr., Indianapolis Park Tudor

Trey Lyles, 6-8, Jr., Indianapolis Arsenal Tech

Michael Volovic, 5-9, Sr., Carmel

Demetrius Jackson, 6-1, Sr., Mishawaka Marian


Ja’Quan Lyle, 6-5, Jr., Evansville Bosse

Mike Crawford, 6-5, Sr., Tipton

Bryson Scott, 6-0, Sr., Fort Wayne Northrop

James Blackmon, Jr., 6-2, Jr., Fort Wayne Luers

Darryl Baker, 6-2, Sr., Jeffersonville


Collin Hartman, 6-6, Sr., Indianapolis Cathedral

Bryant McIntosh, 6-3, Jr., Greensburg

Blake Simmons, 6-5, Sr., Castle

V.J. Beachem, 6-6, Sr., New Haven

Clay Yeo, 6-5, Sr., Triton


Jaylon Brown, Fishers; Jalen Coleman, Indianapolis Cathedral; James Crowley, Carmel; Nick Davidson, Andrean; Devin Davis, Indianapolis Warren Central; Davon Dillard, Bowman Academy; Ernie Duncan, Evansville Harrison; Hyron Edwards, East Chicago Central; J.C. Faubion, Indianapolis Lutheran; Dess Fougerousse, Linton-Stockton; Eron Gordon, Indianapolis North Central; FRANKO HOUSE, Concord; B.J. Jenkins, Merrillville; Anthony Johnson, Indianapolis Decatur Central; Austin Karazsia, Linton; Aaron Korn, Frankton; Darius Latham, Indianapolis North Central; Lane Mahurin, Rockville; D.J. McCall, Fort Wayne Concordia; MARKESE McGUIRE, Elkhart Memorial; Zach McRoberts, Carmel; Michael Morris, New Palestine; Antonio Penny, Logansport; Tayler Persons, Kokomo; Jordan Pickett, Indianapolis Pike; Michael Schlotman, Munster; Brenton Scott, Fort Wayne Northrop; LaBradford Sebree, Kokomo; Sean Sellers, Greensburg; Basil Smotherman, Jr., Indianapolis Lawrence North; Thomas Starks, Fort Wayne Concordia; AUSTIN TORRES, Penn; Zavier Turner, Indianapolis Pike; Conner Wittmer, Loogootee.


Ian Asher, Danville; Jalen Bender, Evansville Central; Steven Bennett, New Castle; Calvin Blank, Terre Haute North; Jared Bloom, Warsaw; Trey Boyd, Anderson; Caleb Brannon, Lebanon; Anfernee Brown, East Chicago Central; Blake Cesinger, Clay City; Jaylen Chambers, Evansville North; Kegan Comer, Jay County; Austin Compton, Frankton; Brandon Cook, Cannelton; Charles Cooper, Gary Wallace; Brock Cosey, South Bend Riley; Nick Crays, North Daviess; Brodie Crowe, Shakamak; Andrew Dakich, Zionsville; Alex Etherington, Hamilton Heights; Perry Fairrow, Evansville Bosse; Nick Gamble, Homestead; Brogan Gary, Pendleton Heights; Sawyer Glick, Columbus North; Tori Jackson, Columbus North; Taishaun Johnson, Indianapolis Pike, Tyler Jones, Sheridan; Justin King, Bowman Academy; Carlos Knox, Indianapolis Ritter; Ajay Lawton, Westfield; Jalen McCoy, Borden; Brett McCory, Brownstown Central; Brock McFarland, Jay County; John Mosser, Valparaiso; Cole Murray, Delphi; Jermaine Parrish, New Albany; Antonio Pipkin, Bowman Academy; Mack Rathbun, Muncie Burris; Korey Ryan, New Castle; Troy Spears, Martinsville; Justus Stanback, West Lafayette; Jeffrey Turner, Terre Haute South; Stephen Turner, Mount Vernon (Hancock); Gary Ulrich, Rockville; Trent VanHorn, Fort Wayne Canterbury; Josh VanMeter, Norwell; Addison Wagler, Barr-Reeve; Tyler Walsh, Evansville Mater Dei; Ryan Welage, Greensburg; Keenan Williams, Jeffersonville; Tony Wills, Indianapolis Ben Davis.