Boys Basketball Jackson named NIC MVP for third time

Penn's Torres also on first team.
Posted on March 4, 2013 at 12:00 a.m. | Updated on March 4, 2013 at 1:34 p.m.

SOUTH BEND — Marian senior Demetrius Jackson is the first-ever three-time boys basketball most valuable player of the Northern Indiana Conference.

Jackson was named MVP for the third straight year Monday, as selected by the league’s coaches. Before Jackson, the only two-time winner of the honor that started in 1993 was South Bend Clay’s Jaraan Cornell in 1995 and ’96.

The McDonald’s All-American is joined by fellow Notre Dame recruit Austin Torres of Penn on the NIC’s six-member first team.

Penn senior Conner Sowders is among the second-team picks, while Central senior Terell Street, Penn sophomore Jordan Geist and Marian sophomore Devin Cannady are among the honorable mention choices.

All-NIC Boys Basketball

(Senior Unless Indicated)

MVP: Demetrius Jackson (Marian).

Coach of Year: Milt Cooper (Adams).

First Team

Demetrius Jackson (Marian), Joe Beard (Adams), Chris Mitchell (Mishawaka), Austin Torres (Penn), Brock Cosey (Riley), Tra’veon Johnson (Washington jr.).

Second Team

Juwan Johnson (Adams), Terry Davis (Adams jr.), Taron Miller (Clay), Conner Sowders (Penn), Ja’mere Washington (Riley jr.), Mathew Monserez (St. Joseph jr.).

Honorable Mention

Kenny Jones (Clay), Terell Street (Central), Devin Cannady (Marian so.), Cody Childress (Mishawaka), Jordan Geist (Penn so.), Chris Sleepers (Washington).

Final Standings

Penn 7-1, SB Adams 7-1, SB Riley 5-3, SB Washington 4-4, SB Clay 4-4, SB St. Joseph 3-5, Marian 3-5, Mishawaka 2-6, Central 1-7.

Recommended for You

Back to top ^