Bonfiglio takes (early) lead in tournament

Lebold and McBride trail by one stroke. 

Posted on June 27, 2014 at 9:41 p.m.

ELKHART —  Jon Bonfiglio doesn’t mind getting up early to play golf.

On Friday, June 27 in the first round of the 2014 Greater Elkhart Men’s Golf Championship, Bonfiglio went out with the first group of the day and shot a three-under 69 at Bent Oak Golf Club to take a one stroke lead over Eric Lebold and Logan McBride. Kyle miller is two strokes out after shooting a one-under 71.

"I like going out with the first group because we can set our own pace — fast or slow — and it’s easier to put because the greens aren’t as beat up,’’ Bonfiglio said. “Plus, Bent Oak has been my home course for a long time, it’s kind of a home field advantage. I’m familiar with the course and the conditions.”

After a consistent first seven holes, Bonfiglio had bogeys on holes nine, 11 and 12. But he bounced back with a vengeance, getting eagles on the par five 13th and 15th, to reach four under. A bogey coming down the stretch pushed him back to three-under and the one stroke lead.

"I was able to chip in for eagle on 13 and then on 15, I putted from the fringe from about 20 or 25 feet and got the eagle there,“ Bonfiglio said. "It really gave me confidence to the rest of the day and going into tomorrow.”

Lebold is also a former champion (200), while also being a close friend and former high school (Concord) and college (Bethel) teammate of Bonfiglio.

"Eric played great late, I think he was five under over the final 11 holes," Bonfiglio said. “We have two tough rounds to play and it is really wide open."

One golfer usually at the top of the leaderboard the last several years is Dan Hood, who finished third in 2011 when Bonfiglio won the tournament. But on Friday, Hood, who lost over 60 pounds since last summer, shot an 88 and is last in Championship Flight.

Because of flooding at Christiana Creek this week, the first round of the tournament was moved to Bent Oak, which will also hold the second round on Saturday, June 28. The final round is scheduled for Sunday, Jun 29 at the Meadow Valley Golf Club in Middlebury.

Other Flight leaders include Broc Mauer (Flight 1), Nick Foy (Flight 2), Jeff Rolston (Flight 3), Rocco Lisa (Flight 4), Mark Chapman (Flight 5) and Carl Craig (Flight 6).

Golfers went out as threesomes this year, rather than four to a group, which cut the average time on the course from over six hours, to just four hours and 15 minutes. 

Greater Elkhart Men’s Golf Championship

First-Round Results

(At Bent Oak)

Championship Flight

Jon Bonfiglio 69

Eric Lebold 70

Logan McBride 70

Kyle Miller 71

Brock Zeeb 72

Jeff McBride 72

Patrick Mohan 75

Zach Hochstedler 75

Billy Bridwell 76

Brian Ulrich 77

Rhett Holaway 77

Brandon Gerlach 79

Chris Elledge 79

Riley Keagle 79

Neil Farr 80

Payton Grubbs 80

Brian Denny 85

Dan Hood 85

Flight 1

Broc Maurer 74

Brayden Glaser 76

Ryan Bontrager 77

Dan Holden 78

Scott Watson 78

Mark Landis 80

Brian Checkley 81

Frank Iavagnilio 81

James Patterson 83

Lance McKinney 84

Austin Tevlin 90

Carter Goodson 90

Flight 2

Nick Foy 75

Chris Horoky 79

Derek Bryant 83

Josh Davidhizar 83

Ryan Ullery 84

Chad Sotebeer 85

Dan Demeyer 85

Rodney Huffman 86

Geoff Hahn 87

Jim Stansbury 91

Derek Hawn 92

Ray Seabolt 93

Ed Mast 97

Tony Triplet 105

Thy Moeun 108

Flight 3

Jeff Rolston - 41-41--82

Dave Crise - 42-41--83

Gary Martin - 40-43--83

Steve Johnson - 44-41--85

Dave Shenk - 44-42--86

Mitchell Wilson - 43-43--86

Robert Stockman - 47-39--86

Rock Mohr - 45-41--86

Luke Krizek - 43-46--89

Jeff Pressinell - 41-49--90

Bryan Russell - 51-43--94

Ryan McBride - 46-48--94

Matthew Kibiloski - 47-50--97

Flight 4

Rocco Lisa 84

Kevin Lower 89

Alan Griffin 90

Chase Whicker 90

Adam Cates 93

George Anagnos 93

Steve Clodfelter 93

Tony Magyar 93

William Holmes 94

Jeff Magyar 95

Robbie Wilson 96

Schmille Barhams 100

Flight 5

Mark Chapman 90

Alec Dose 92

Cobey Bartlett 93

Mike Lapp 94

Randy McDowell 94

Harvey Dose 96

Phillip Frampton 98

Mike Platz 100

Jeff Hoeppner 101

Mike Keagle 103

Ron Oldenburg 103

Brendon Keagle 104

Flight 6

Carl Craig 91

Robert Dorsam 96

Jim Lindsey 97

Ed Freel 98

Greg Byrkett 98

Colin Dorsam 101

Ray Reed 101

Mani Subramanian 103

Dan Watson 105

John Altum 110

Kyle Stansbury 119

Tim Emmons 119



Recommended for You


Posted at 3:42 a.m.

Posted at 12:00 a.m.
Michigan Minnesota Basketball

Posted at 12:00 a.m.
Back to top ^