Elkhart Truth Logo
Wednesday, April 23, 2014

EACC places in Hot Rodders’ national

Gortney-coached teams sixth, seventh in motor challenge.
Posted on Dec. 26, 2013 at 12:00 a.m. | Updated on Dec. 26, 2013 at 7:57 a.m.

ELKHART — Two teams from the Elkhart Area Career Center placed in the top seven in the nation at the Hot Rodders of Tomorrow Engine Challenge national championship event, which was held in Indianapolis on Saturday, Dec. 14.

The Auto Meter team, which featured Angel Hernandez, Tim Zeiger, Kerry Miller, Cody Pullin, Zac Coffel and alternate Tyler Golden finished sixth in the nation, which earned each member $22,500 in scholarship money.

The Edelbrock team came home seventh, with Lane Gortney, Dalton Coney, Tyler Dickson, Jake Harris, Ben Largent and alternate Tyler Bell. They earned $21,000 apiece in scholarship money.

The two Elkhart teams were coached by Ryan Gortney.

The Hot Rodders of Tomorrow program gave away $2.5 million dollars at the event. Team Moroso from Oklahoma County Tech Center won the national title.

Students may use the scholarship money at one of three schools: Ohio Technical School, the University of Northwestern Ohio or the School of Automotove Machinists in Houston, Texas.

 Indiana Pacers head coach Frank Vogel calls a play during the first half in Game 2 of an opening-round NBA basketball playoff series against the Atlanta Hawks Tuesday, April 22, 2014, in Indianapolis. (AP Photo/Darron Cummings)
Posted 2 hours ago
 Chicago Bulls center Joakim Noah (13) shoots between Washington Wizards forward Nene Hilario (42) and Marcin Gortat during the first half of Game 2 in an opening-round NBA basketball playoff series Tuesday, April 22, 2014, in Chicago. (AP Photo/Charles Rex Arbogast)
Posted at 12:47 a.m.
 Chicago Cubs second baseman Luis Valbuena watches his throw to first base after forcing out Arizona Diamondbacks' Chris Owings (16), at second base during the third inning of a baseball game in Chicago, Tuesday, April 22, 2014. (AP Photo/Paul Beaty)
By JOHN JACKSON Associated Press
Posted at 11:32 p.m.
Back to top ^