Heisman finalists: Te’o, Manziel and Klein

Notre Dame's Manti Te'o is a finalist for the Heisman Trophy

Posted on Dec. 3, 2012 at 12:00 a.m. | Updated on Dec. 3, 2012 at 6:46 p.m.

NEW YORK — Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Kansas quarterback Collin Klein are the finalists for the Heisman Trophy. The finalists were announced Monday.

Te’o is trying to become the first defense-only player to win a Heisman and the eighth player from Notre Dame. The Fighting Irish have had seven Heisman winners, tied for the most, but none since Tim Brown in 1987.

Manziel is the favorite to win college football’s most famous player of the award when it is presented Saturday night in New York. He would be the first freshman to win the Heisman and the first Texas A&M player since halfback John David Crow won the school’s only Heisman in 1957.

Klein would be the first player from Kansas State to win the Heisman.

Recommended for You

Ohio St Rutgers Basketball

Posted 18 minutes ago
Louisville Notre Dame Basketball

Posted 24 minutes ago

Posted 34 minutes ago
Back to top ^