Elkhart Truth Logo
Thursday, April 24, 2014

Te’o’s list of accolades grows

Manti Te'o adds a fourth national award to his arsenal.

Posted on Dec. 7, 2012 at 12:00 a.m.

NOTRE DAME — Manti Te’o’s trophy case will need an expansion soon.

The Notre Dame linebacker pocketed his fourth national honor Thursday evening after being named the Walter Camp Player of the Year on ESPN SportsCenter.

Te’o is the third defensive player alongside Pitt’s Hugh Green (1980) and Michigan’s Charles Woodson (1997) to ever win the award. Woodson went on to win the Heisman Trophy that same year, becoming the only defensive player to ever do so.

Te’o also joins tight end Ken MacAfee (1977), receiver Tim Brown (1987) and receiver Rocket Ismail (1990) as the fourth Notre Dame player to win Walter Camp honors.

Cam Newton (2010) is the only player in the past five years to go on to win the Heisman after being named the Walter Camp Player of the Year.

Te’o has also won the Butkus Award (top linebacker), Bronko Nagurski Trophy (top defensive player) and Rotary Lombardi Award (top lineman/linebacker). He is a finalist of the Heisman Trophy, the Maxwell Award, Lott IMPACT Award and the Chuck Bednarik Trophy.

Back to top ^