Saturday, October 25, 2014

Te’o adds Maxwell to become most decorated college player

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o wins the Maxwell Award to become the most decorated college football player in history.
Posted on Dec. 6, 2012 at 12:00 a.m.

NOTRE DAME — Manti Te’o is officially the most decorated college football player in history.

The Notre Dame linebacker received the Maxwell Award, which recognizes the nation’s top player, on Thursday night, becoming the first college football player to ever win six national awards.

Earlier Thursday, Te’o notched his fifth win with the Chuck Bednarik Award for the nation’s top defensive player. Te’o has also won the Camp, Butkus, Lombardi and Nagurski awards this week.

Te’o is the first defensive recipient of the Maxwell Award since Pitt’s Hugh Green won it in 1980. Te’o also breaks a streak of nine consecutive quarterbacks who have won the award.

“I’m at a loss for words,” Te’o told ESPN when asked how it felt to win the award. “The last time I ever dreamt of winning that award was on a video game and now for it to happen is just mind- blowing to me.”

Te’o tops his award circuit loop with a final stop in New York City on Saturday for the Heisman Trophy ceremony. Te’o beat out fellow Heisman candidates Johnny Manziel and Collin Klein for the Maxwell Award.

Recommended for You

 FILE - In this Nov. 20, 1964, file photo, Notre Dame coach Ara Parseghian, left, and team captain James Carroll are shown during a practice session in South Bend. Notre Dame was at rock bottom when Ara Parseghian took over 50 years ago. The Irish finished the season 2-7 in 1963 and the only thing that kept them from matching the worst record in school history set in 1956 was the game against Iowa was cancelled because of the assassination of John Kennedy.  (AP Photo/Charles Knoblock, File)

Posted on Oct. 25, 2014 at 4:07 a.m.
Back to top ^