New principals appointed at Elkhart elementary schools

Elkhart Community Schools’ board approved new principals at Hawthorne and Monger. 

Posted on May 13, 2014 at 9:16 p.m.

Both Hawthorne and Monger will have new principals in the fall. 

The Elkhart school board approved Mary Teeter as principal for Hawthorne and April Walker as principal for Monger in its meeting on Tuesday, May 13.

Both women already work for the school corporation.

Walker, who was not present at Tuesday’s meeting, is academic dean at Monger, and Teeter is assistant principal at Hawthorne.

Teeter said after her appointment that one of her goals is to help Hawthorne out of its “priority status” with the state department of education. 

The school’s current grade from the state is a D, and Teeter said it will take two years of showing improvement for Hawthorne to get out of priority status.

"It’s a huge goal for us but doable," she said. "I love kids and I’m excited to move them forward."

Teeter has lived in Elkhart with her family for about 15 years.

Follow reporter Lydia Sheaks on Twitter at @LydiaSheaks

Recommended for You

Back to top ^