Monday, October 20, 2014

 Penn won football, boys tennis, girls soccer (tie), girls golf and girls cross country titles during the Northern Indiana Conference fall season.

Marian is third for boys and second for girls. Elkhart Central is fourth for boys and fifth for girls.

Steve Krah

Posted 35 minutes ago
 Stanley Kendall, a former substitute teacher for Penn-Harris-Madison and Plymouth schools, is shown in a November 2006 mug shot provided by the Collin County, Texas jail. Kendall was arrested for soliciting sex from a minor after he appeared in a Dateline NBC

Whiko Community Schools in Pierceton confirmed Stanley Kendall, who was featured on Dateline NBC’s “To Catch a Predator” and later substitute taught for both Plymouth and P-H-M Schools, also taught Whitko students in 2013. 

Posted at 4:28 p.m.
 Central sophomore Ian Fahrenkrog, 16, plays his trumpet after a portrait with The Elkhart Truth in his room on Tuesday, Oct. 14, 2014, Elkhart. Fahrenkrog started playing trumpet in sixth grade but switch the french horn and plays the mellophone in Central's marching band. In addition to his involvement in the Blazer Brigade, he ran cross country, takes four AP classes and takes part in many other activities.

Many members of Elkhart Central’s Blazer Brigade spend dozens of hours participating in other extracurricular activities, working part-time jobs and volunteering — even during the busy marching band season.

Lydia Sheaks

Posted on Oct. 20, 2014 at 6:51 a.m.
Recommended for You
 Goshen  unior Catherine Loera (7) and Warsaw freshman Alex Koontz (6) compete for the ball during a regional semifinal soccer game on Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2014, at Goshen High School. The Redskins beat the Tigers 1-0.
Posted on Oct. 19, 2014 at 11:35 a.m.

Redskins mark Penn tight for school’s first girls soccer regional title.

 Westview's No. 1 doubles pair fell in a regional three-setter Saturday, Oct. 18.
Posted on Oct. 18, 2014 at 10:26 p.m.

The Warriors’ Andrew Yoder and Zach Schrock finished the season 15-2 together.

 Goshen freshman Jill Kissinger (13) watches junior goalkeeper Alyssa Hershberger (1) scoop up the ball during a regional semifinal soccer game against Warsaw on Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2014, at Goshen High School. The Redskins beat the Tigers 1-0.
Posted on Oct. 18, 2014 at 9:51 p.m.

Alyssa Hershberger makes 17 saves as Redskins edge Kingsmen.

 Host Westview fell 2-0 in a regional boys soccer final Saturday, Oct. 18.
Posted on Oct. 18, 2014 at 6:24 p.m.

The No. 7-ranked Warriors finish 16-3-2 with loss to No. 8 Blackhawk.

 NorthWood color guards perform in a Class C competition at the ISSMA Open Class Regional  on Saturday, Oct. 18, 2014, at Lafayette Jefferson High School. The Red Regiment  received a gold rating with visual and effects distinctions and advanced to semi-state.
Updated on Oct. 18, 2014 at 10:31 p.m.

Eight Elkhart County area bands competed Saturday, Oct. 18, at the Indiana State School Music Association regional marching band contest. 

 Penn High's Nate Miller (7) sprints by Mishawaka's Peyton Marshall  on a 30-yard punt return that set up the Kingsmen's first touchdown in a 21-12 victory on Friday, Oct. 17, at Freed Field.
Posted on Oct. 18, 2014 at 3:32 p.m.

The senior’s savvy interception helped the Kingsmen secure an NIC title and perfect regular season.

 Marian senior quarterback Devin Cannady (3)  hands the ball off to senior Ricky Entzian (2) during a game against Central on Friday, Oct. 17, 2014, at Marian in Mishawaka. The Knights beat the Blazers 28-27.
Posted on Oct. 18, 2014 at 1:01 p.m.

Mishawaka Marian edged the Blue Blazers 28-27 in a nail-biting high school football game at Otolski Field on Friday, Oct. 17.

 Trey Bilinski, shown warming up before the game, completed 15-of-17 passes for 222 yards and one touchdown in the first of the a 39-14 NorthWood football victory Friday, Sept. 12, at Goshen. Bilinski was hurt near the end of the first half and did not play in the second half.
Posted on Oct. 17, 2014 at 11:59 p.m.

Panthers see Rockies put up 30-7 edge in the fourth quarter in final regular season game. 

 Northridge lineman Michael Fickert (71) pressures Plymouth quarterback Jack Barron (5) as Barron flips the ball to a running back during first half action at Northridge Friday, Sept. 12, 2014.
Posted on Oct. 17, 2014 at 11:41 p.m.

Fickert helps 7-2 Raiders go as defensive end and offensive tackle.

 Jimtown High's Dylan Guldager moves to intercept Concord High's Avis Emmons as teammate Nik Olson runs the ball Friday, Sept. 26 during the game at Jimtown High School.
Posted on Oct. 17, 2014 at 11:34 p.m.

Nik Olson breaks free on Jimtown’s first snap for a 96-yard TD as Jimmies end their time in the Northern State Conference

Back to top ^