Elkhart County elections 2014: Bujalski, Kubacki and Elkhart schools referendum questions get endorsements

The Indiana Farm Bureau and the National Rifle Association handed out recent evaluations and endorsements.

Posted on April 16, 2014 at 4:27 p.m.

The endorsements and evaluations are coming in for candidates ahead of the May 6 primary.

The Elkhart Community Schools referendum questions — to raise property taxes to offset losses due to tax caps — also got a formal vote of confidence.

Here's the rundown of recent activity:

Indiana Farm Bureau: Indiana Farm Bureau ELECT, the farm bureau's political action committee, is endorsing Adam Bujalski in the race for the District 48 seat in the Indiana House and Rep. Rebecca Kubacki in her bid for re-election to the District 22 post. Both are Republicans.

Megan Ritter, director of public policy for the farm bureau, used similar language in separate press releases announcing the endorsements, citing the candidates' "support of policy priorities for agriculture, farm families and rural Indiana."

NRA: The National Rifle Association, the gun rights group, gave the three District 48 candidates, Bujalski, Doug Miller and Jesse Bohannon, ratings of A-minus. The group gave Kubacki an A-minus as well and gave her GOP challenger, Curt Nisly, an AQ. An AQ is equivalent to an A based on responses to a questionnaire.

Elkhart schools: Indian Rep. Tim Wesco, a Republican, said he backs the Elkhart schools referendum questions seeking support for tax hikes to bolster funding for transportation and capital projects. Wesco, a Republican, represents District 21.

The school district "is making specific and reasonable requests," Wesco said in a statement. “The additional tax revenues will be used for specified, tangible purposes; reducing excessive walk zones, completing critical building repairs and greatly enhancing safety and security."

Voters in the Elkhart school district will weigh in on two referendum questions related to the funding requests.

District 48 covers northwestern Elkhart County, including northern Elkhart and Bristol. District 22 covers extreme southern Elkhart County and the northern half of Kosciusko County. District 21 includes west central Elkhart County, including southern Elkhart, and northeastern St. Joseph County. 

Follow reporter Tim Vandenack on Twitter at @timvandenack or visit him on Facebook.


Recommended for You

Back to top ^