Bohannon concedes to Miller in District 48 Indiana House race, offers support to victor

Still, he hasn’t given up on the conservative cause and will ’continue (to) battle with boldness here in Michiana.’

Posted on May 19, 2014 at 6:00 p.m.

ELKHART — Nearly two weeks after the primary vote here, Jesse Bohannon is conceding in the close race for the District 48 seat in the Indiana House.

He will “enthusiastically” support the winner in the May 6 GOP primary, Doug Miller, “and offer myself to him as a resource as he serves us in the statehouse,” Bohannon said in an email Monday, May 19.

Still, Bohannon, who finished second to Miller in the GOP vote by less than 100 votes, hasn’t given up on the conservative cause. “The movement to rein in government and protect traditional values is gaining momentum nationwide, and I will continue (to) battle with boldness here in Michiana,” Bohannon said.

According to the official tally finalized on May 16, Miller won the District 48 race with 2,080 votes, or 41.2 percent of the total, followed by Bohannon, who garnered 1,982 votes, or 39.3 percent. Adam Bujalski finished third with 986 votes. No Democrat has filed to run for the post.

Bohannon refused to concede the race a day after the election in light of the narrow finish, leaving open the possibility of a re-count. In the wake of tabulation last week of the final numbers, though, he opted against any challenge.

Per state law, Bohannon would have had to filed suit in Elkhart Circuit Court to force a re-count, according to Elkhart County Clerk Wendy Hudson. He would have had to have pinpointed the precincts to be targeted in a re-count and he would have had to cover the cost of the effort.

The initial vote tally election night showed Miller winning by 95 votes. That widened to 98 votes per the official tally.

Rep. Tim Neese currently holds the District 48 post, which covers northwestern Elkhart County, including northern Elkhart. But he’s not running for re-election and will run next year for Elkhart mayor instead.

Follow reporter Tim Vandenack on Twitter at @timvandenack or visit him on Facebook.

Recommended for You

Back to top ^