Where do Indiana's bordering states stand on same-sex marriage?

Here’s a look at how Michigan, Illinois, Ohio and Kentucky have ruled on the legality of same-sex marriage.

Posted on June 25, 2014 at 6:07 p.m.

Hoosier history was made Wednesday, June 25, when a judge struck down Indiana’s ban on same-sex marriage — but where do our bordering neighbors stand?

Here’s how Michigan, Ohio, Kentucky and Illinois stack up when it comes to same-sex matrimony.

Michigan: Same-sex marriage is not legal

On March 21, a Michigan district court ruled same-sex marriage legal, and more than 300 couples were married before the ruling was suspended indefinitely by a federal court, The Daily News reported.

U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder announced March 28 that the federal government will recognize the same-sex marriages that were performed while the ruling was in effect, MLive reported.

Ohio: Same-sex marriage is not legal

Currently, same-sex marriages are recognized only for death certificate purposes, CNN reported.

In May, state officials appealed a federal judge's order to recognize the marriages of gay couples who marry in other states, the Huffington Post reported. That case is being considered by the Cincinnati appeals court, ABC News reported.

Kentucky: Same-sex marriage is not legal

While a federal judge ruled in March that the state must recognize same-sex marriages performed legally in other states, same-sex couples cannot get married in Kentucky, the Lexington Herald-Leader reported.

The Kentucky’s attorney general said he will not appeal the ruling, so the state has hired private attorneys to proceed with an appeal.

Illinois: Same-sex marriage is legal

As of June 1, all counties in Illinois are required to issue same-sex marriage licenses under legislation that was signed into law last year, USA TODAY reported.


Other states in which same-sex marriage is legal: 

Washington, Oregon, California, New Mexico, Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois, Pennsylvania, New York, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Jersey, Delaware and Maryland. Same-sex marriage also is legal in the District of Columbia.


Recommended for You

Back to top ^