Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Cpl. Cody Skipper, left, and Cpl. Jason Tripp (Photos supplied)
Indiana house resolution to honor officers who responded to Martin's shooting

Posted on Feb. 21, 2014 at 9:57 p.m.

ELKHART — The two Elkhart police officers who were first on the scene of last month's shooting at Martin's Super Market will be honored next week by the Indiana House of Representatives.

Rep. Tim Neese, R-Elkhart, has authored a house concurrent resolution honoring Cpl. Cody Skipper and Cpl. Jason Tripp for their quick response to the shooting on the evening of Jan. 15, according to a press release from Neese's office.

Neese will present the resolution, which also memorialized victims Krystle Dikes and Rachelle Godfread, to the House at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, Feb. 26. 

Members of the community are encouraged to attend to show support for the families of those who lost loved ones and to show their thankfulness to the officers who rushed to their aide, according to the release.