FEMA request denied for Elkhart County after severe winter storms

Elkhart County isn't on the list of 19 counties in Indiana that FEMA declared major disasters, meaning that the county doesn't qualify for federal assistance.

Posted on April 22, 2014 at 12:57 p.m.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency approved 19 counties in Indiana for federal assistance after severe winter storms ravaged much of the state on Jan. 5 to Jan. 9, but Elkhart County wasn't one of them.

Elkhart County was one of 20 counties denied assistance. LaGrange and LaPorte counties were also denied assistance, according to a press release from the Indiana Gov. Mike Pence's office.

Pence requested FEMA assistance in March for 49 counties in Indiana after the early January storms. While the request was initially denied earlier in April, Pence appealed the decision.

The 2013-2014 winter season was one of the snowiest and coldest on record for Elkhart County. Elkhart County, Goshen and Elkhart City governments spent a combined total of $378,159 just in overtime hours for employees.

Recommended for You

Posted 2 hours ago
Hawaii Tuna

Posted 2 hours ago
Back to top ^