Friday, September 19, 2014

Elkhart Truth journalists win six awards in state competition

The work recognized included photography, editorial writing, sports column writing and feature writing.

Posted on March 24, 2014 at 6:54 p.m.

ELKHART — The Elkhart Truth won six awards in the Indiana Associated Press Media Editors Association annual awards recognizing outstanding journalism in Indiana in 2013.

Photographer Ryan Dorgan won first place for best spot news photo for an image of the aftermath of a traffic crash.

Editor Greg Halling was awarded second place in best editorial writing, and the Elkhart Truth staff received a third place in the same category.

Truth staffers also earned three third place awards: Bill Beck for best sports column writing; J. Tyler Klassen, best sports photo; and Emily Pfund, best feature series for articles about synthetic marijuana.

The Indiana APME awards program will be held April 25 at the Rathskeller Restaurant, 401 E. Michigan St., Indianapolis.

 FILE - In this Aug. 27, 2012 file photo, family members hold up photos of Michele MacNeill facing Martin MacNeill, not shown, as he enters the courtroom in Provo, Utah. The Utah doctor convicted of killing his wife was sentenced to one to 15 years in prison in a separate sexual abuse case. He is facing up to life in prison at a sentencing hearing scheduled for Friday, Sept. 18, 2014. MacNeill was found guilty of giving his wife Michelle drugs prescribed after cosmetic surgery and leaving her to drown in the bathtub of their home in 2007 so he could begin a new life with his mistress. The long-awaiting sentencing comes after a Provo judge denied a request for a new trial.  (AP Photo/The Deseret News, Scott G Winterton, Pool, File)

Updated 12 minutes ago

Updated 18 minutes ago
Back to top ^