Let the campaigning begin: The formal declaration period for candidates starts Jan. 8

If you plan to run for office in 2014, you can formally announce your candidacy starting Jan. 8.

Posted on Dec. 31, 2013 at 12:00 a.m.

GOSHEN — Let the campaigning begin.

The period for major party hopefuls — Democrats and Republicans — to formally declare their candidacies in 2014 elections starts Jan. 8, according to the Elkhart County Clerk’s Office. It goes through noon Feb. 7.

Those vying for county, township and town offices in Elkhart County must file at the county clerk’s office, 101 N. Main St., Goshen. Those planning to run for state, judicial and federal office file at the state level.

One new twist this go-round, per a change approved by state lawmakers — hopefuls for school board and local spots will now have to fill out a statement of economic interest, or CAN-12, in addition to a declaration of candidacy, according to the clerk’s office. In the statement, candidates will have to provide information on their employer and involvement in any businesses, among other things. They’ll also have to provide some information on the employment and business activities of their spouses.

The Indiana primary is set for May 6 and the general election will be on Nov. 4.

Here are the state and federal spots relevant to Elkhart County — all currently held by Republicans — up for election in 2014. Current officeholders listed in parentheses:

Ÿ The 2nd District U.S. House seat (Jackie Walorski).

Ÿ The District 11 seat in the Indiana Senate (Joe Zakas).

Ÿ The District 21, 22, 48, 49 and 82 seats in the Indiana House (respectively, Tim Wesco, Rebecca Kubacki, Tim Neese, Wes Culver and David Ober).

Here’s a look at Elkhart County and judicial posts — all now held by Republicans — up for grabs in the 2014 election cycle. Current officeholders listed in parentheses:

Ÿ The District 1 seat on the Elkhart County Board of Commissioners (Frank Lucchese).

Ÿ The District 1, 2, 3 and 4 seats on the Elkhart County Council (respectively, Dave Foutz, Randall Yohn, Darryl Riegsecker and Dave Hess).

Ÿ Elkhart County sheriff (Brad Rogers).

Ÿ Elkhart County prosecutor (Curtis Hill).

Ÿ The judgeships for Elkhart Superior Courts 1, 3, 4 and 5 (respectively, Evan Roberts, George Biddlecome, Olga Stickel and Charles Wicks).

Ÿ Clerk of the Elkhart Circuit Court (Wendy Hudson).

Ÿ Elkhart County auditor (Pauline Graff).

Ÿ Elkhart County recorder (Jerry Weaver).

Ÿ Elkhart County assessor (Cathy Searcy).

Other spots up for grabs include:

Ÿ Concord Township assessor (Kristin Rowe).

Ÿ The township trustee and board spots in all 16 townships here.

Ÿ The two at-large seats on the Bristol Town Council (Ronald Norman and Cathy Burke).

Ÿ The two at-large seats on the Wakarusa Town Council (Mark BeMiller and Joyce McDowell).

Ÿ The Democratic precinct committeemen here.

Ÿ The Democratic and Republican state convention delegates.

Candidates for Indiana secretary of state, auditor and treasurer are to be nominated at party conventions before placement on the general election ballot. Same goes for Middlebury town offices.

The filing period for candidates for the spots up for grabs on the Baugo, Concord, Elkhart, Fairfield, Goshen, Middlebury and Wa-Nee school boards starts July 23 and goes through noon on Aug. 22.


Recommended for You

Back to top ^