Elkhart NAACP banquet Nov. 1

Retired professor Richmond Calvin to speak at annual event.

Posted on Sept. 29, 2013 at 1:00 a.m.

The Elkhart County branch of the NAACP will host its annual awards banquet Nov. 1 at the Matterhorn banquet hall, 2041 Cassopolis St. in Elkhart.

The keynote speaker will be Dr. Richmond Calvin, a retired professor from Indiana University.

The honorary chairman will be attorney Edward Chester, a fully paid life member of the NAACP.

Calvin served as director of counseling at Indiana University South Bend, and also served as vice chancellor of student affairs.

During his tenure, he was a professor of counseling and teacher education.

He has degrees in educational mathematics, counseling and sociology and obtained his doctorate in secondary education, counseling and sociology at the University of North Texas in Denton, Texas.

During the past 35 years, Calvin has developed research and expertise in gang psychology, drug and alcohol addiction, suicide, child abuse and stress management.

Chester is a former deputy prosecuting attorney. He’s a third generation lawyer and owner of Chester Law Office in Elkhart.

The banquet’s social hour begins at 6 p.m., with dinner at 7 p.m.

Tickets are $40 and may be purchased from any member of the Elkhart County Executive Committee.

Ron Davis is branch president and Cora Breckenridge is serving as banquet chair.

Recommended for You

Back to top ^