Friday, April 29, 2016

The Nappanee Area Chamber of Commerce honored six award winners at their annual luncheon Thursday, March 21. Pictured are (from left, front row) Bobbie Wilson; Jan Brown; Lucina Gaut; (back row) Jeff Kitson, executive director, Nappanee Area Chamber of Commerce; Paul Emmick, featured speaker and chief meteorologist of WSBT-TV; Randy Cripe; and Wayne Scheumann. (Photo Supplied)
Nappanee Chamber honors award winners at annual luncheon

Posted on March 27, 2013 at 1:00 a.m. | Updated on March 27, 2013 at 12:28 p.m.

NAPPANEE — The Nappanee Area Chamber of Commerce honored its award winners at the chamber’s annual luncheon Thursday, March 21, at Amish Acres.

The chamber handed out six awards, including the Craftsman, Excellence in Business, Pacesetter and Harold Hoffer Memorial awards, as well as Educator of the Year and Citizen of the Year.

Bobbie Wilson was the recipient of the most prestigious award, the Citizen of the Year.

A press release from the chamber said the winner was required to have good moral character, reside in Nappanee and make “significant contributions through his or her work in business, government, service club or volunteer organization.”

Wilson’s Nappanee credentials were noted in a list that covered her involvement with everything from United Cancer Services and the Nappanee Apple Festival to the Nappanee City Republican Party, American Legion and Muscular Dystrophy Association.

The release also noted she received the Distinguished Hoosier Award from former Gov. Mitch Daniels.

Nappanee Elementary School principal Randy Cripe received the Educator of the Year award.

The chamber’s release noted Cripe received the award for demonstrating “a selfless attitude of putting children first, and going above and beyond what is expected.”

The Excellence in Business Award went to Downtown Designs and Consign. The chamber noted the store’s quality, pricing and “distinct eye” as reasons why the business received the honor.

The Harold Hoffer Memorial Award, named for Nappanee’s first full-time chamber director, was given to Virgil Yoder of Kountry Wood Products for his passion for the community and willingness to help the chamber in any way he can.

Jan Brown, a minister at First Mennonite Church, city council member and deputy mayor, was honored with the Crafstman Award. The award recognizes someone who has made a difference in the community.

Wayne Scheumann received the Pacesetter Award.