Monday, May 2, 2016

Several students at the Elkhart Area Career Center were nominated for the Award for Excellence. Nominees include (front row from left) Christian Trost, Alexis Hoshal, Elizabeth Avitia, Jacquelin Vasquez, (back row, from left) state winner Francisco Cardoza, Mackenzie Mick, Rebecca Jacobs, Bill Kovach, Shalynn Jones, Taylor Bell and Sergio Ortiz. State winner Anthony Hardman was not pictured (photo provided).
Elkhart Central students named Award of Excellence winners by Department of Education
Posted on Feb. 21, 2013 at 12:00 a.m. | Updated on Feb. 21, 2013 at 9:22 a.m.

ELKHART — Two Elkhart Central High School students involved in programs at the Elkhart Area Career Center recently won the Secondary Student Career and Technical Education Award for Excellence from the Indiana Department of Education.

Francisco Cardoza Jr. and Anthony Hardman are two of 15 secondary students who were named winners. Winners were chosen based on scholarship, leadership, employability and career and technical skill proficiency.

They will be presented the award at a public ceremony at 1 p.m. April 16 at the Indiana Government Center South Auditorium in Indianapolis. The day will feature many special activities, including a luncheon and reception.

Cardoza is in the Dental Health Careers program and Hardman is in the Emergency Medical Services program.

Elkhart Area Career Center also nominated Elizabeth Avitia of Goshen Igh School, Taylor Bell of Elkhart Christian Academy, Alexis Hoshal of Mishawaka High School, Rebecca Jacobs of Northridge High School, Shalynn Jones of Elkhart Memorial High School, Makenzie Mick of Mishawaka High School, Sergio Ortiz of Concord High School, Christian Trost of Elkhart Central High School and Jacquelin Vasquez of Elkhart Central High School.