Saturday, February 13, 2016

INDIANAPOLIS Lawmakers get committee assignments

Posted on Dec. 6, 2012 at 12:00 a.m.

Three of the Indiana state representatives serving Elkhart County have received committee assignments for the upcoming legislative session:

Ÿ Rep. Wes Culver, R-Goshen, will be chairman of the Statutory Committee on Interstate and International Cooperation. “Interacting with other states and nations is an integral part of our globalized society,” he said in a statement.

Culver, the District 49 rep, will also serve on the Commerce, Small Business and Economic Development Committee; the Family, Children and Human Affairs Committee; and the Select Committee on Government Reduction.

Ÿ Rep. Tim Wesco, R-Osceola, was appointed vice chair of the Government and Regulatory Reform Committee. In that capacity, he’ll help oversee moves toward government reform, “a challenge I am eager to take on,” he said.

Wesco, the District 21 rep, will also serve on the Public Policy; Employment, Labor and Pensions; and Elections and Apportionment committees.

Ÿ Rep. Tim Neese, R-Elkhart, was appointed chairman of the Local Government Committee. In that capacity he’ll “continue to build on our work of ensuring the effectiveness and efficiency of local government,” he said.

Neese, the District 48 rep, will also serve on the Environmental Affairs and Utilities and Energy committees.