Big Brothers Big Sisters of Elkhart County honors volunteer mentors

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Elkhart County recognized four people who have displayed consistent commitment to the children they mentor.

Posted on Aug. 17, 2014 at 2:01 p.m.

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Elkhart County recently named its volunteers of the year for 2014.

Four awards were given Saturday, Aug. 15, according to a statement from Big Brothers Big Sisters. 

Big Brother of the Year for 2014 is Craig Smith, who was matched with his Little Brother, Tony Araujo, in July 2009. Big Sister of the Year is Jo Ellen Davis, matched to Tamra Davis since 2011. 

Rookie Big Brother Jaime Santiago and Rookie Big Sister Melissa Toby were also recognized for their commitment to their little siblings Brycen Wrigley and Winter Nutall.

Big Brothers Big Sisters matches children with mentors who will spend time with them one-on-one and commit to a long-term relationship with the child.

The organization is looking for more men and women to mentor more than 130 children on a waiting list.  

For information or to volunteer, please contact the office at 875-1039, email info@bbbselkhart.org or visit the website at bbbselkhart.org.

Follow reporter Lydia Sheaks on Twitter at @LydiaSheaks

Recommended for You

Back to top ^