When can I set off fireworks in Elkhart County?

The rules for when you can set off fireworks depends a bit on where you live. Here’s a summary for communities in Elkhart County.

(Grace Bonewitz / Photo Supplied)

Posted on June 30, 2014 at 3:49 p.m.

Different law enforcement jurisdictions have different rules for the days and times residents are allowed to set off fireworks, and violations can carry hefty fines.

When can you set off fireworks?

State of Indiana: Where no other local ordinances apply, the state laws governing fireworks apply. According to Indiana state law, fireworks may be discharged from 9 a.m. to midnight on Memorial Day, the Fourth of July, Labor Day and New Year’s Eve. Fireworks may not be discharged any other day of the year

Elkhart County: In unincorporated areas of Elkhart County, fireworks can be set off from 5 p.m. until 2 hours after sunset June 29 to July 3 and from July 5 through July 9. The timeframe is expanded to 10 a.m. to midnight on July 4. Fireworks are also allowed between 10 a.m. Dec. 31 and 1 a.m. Jan. 1. The county prohibits fireworks all other times of the year. A fine of $500 can be imposed for each violation.

Elkharty city: The Elkhart city ordinance on fireworks is the same as the county’s rules. Fines for violations can range from $100 to $2,500.

Goshen: The Goshen city ordinance is the same as the state regulations. To report a fireworks violation, call the non-emergency dispatch line at 533-4151.

Nappanee: Nappanee’s fireworks ordinance is the same as the state regulations.

Other regulations to keep in mind this Fourth of July:

• Only individuals older than 18 can purchase fireworks.

• A person 18 years of age or older must be present when anyone younger than 18 is using or possessing fireworks.

• Fireworks can only be used on the user’s property, the property of someone who granted permission for fireworks to be discharged or a place designated by the Indiana State Fire Marshal for the discharge of consumer fireworks.

Recommended for You

Back to top ^