Sunday, February 7, 2016

Pictured are (from left) Robin Tahara Miller, Northridge Dollars for Scholars advisory board president, Max Troyer and his parents Melissa Troyer and Rich Troyer. Max was recently awarded a Dollars for Scholars scholarship. (Photo Supplied)
College Notes, May 16, 2013

Posted on May 19, 2013 at 1:00 a.m.

EDMOND, Okla. — Dorothy Lewis of Elkhart, Ind., graduated from University of Central Oklahoma with a bachelor’s degree in spring 2013.

DOWAGIAC, Mich. — Johanna Johnston of Goshen, Ind., graduated from Southwestern Michigan College with top honors after earning a 4.0 grade-point average during her two years at the college.

MIDDLEBURY — Northridge High School senior Max Troyer won the first ever renewable scholarship by Northridge Dollars for Scholars. The scholarship is for $1,000, renewable for up to four years. The scholarship was made possible by Norval and Jean Poyser Estate gift and a grant from Indiana Office of Scholarship America, Inc.

SOUTH BEND — Several local students recently received scholarships from Martin’s Super Markets. Nicholas Hibshman and Paige Robison of Elkhart Memorial High School, Morgan Juillerat of Elkhart Central High School, Hailey Stiver and Chelsea Lewandowski of Concord High School and Brennan Angle of NorthWood High School each earned a $1,000 Achievement Scholarship. Kylie Hill of Elkhart Central High School and Jennifer Brady of Penn High School each earned a $2,000 Dependent Scholarship from the grocery chain.

TERRE HAUTE — Myrtika Allen, Taylor Artley, Chevelle Bailey, Spencer Mark, Elizabeth Marvel, Jessica Molen, Michaela Sherman and Peyton Smith, all of Elkhart; Steven Koronkiewicz and Celeana Stiver, both of Goshen; Hanna Mercer of Bristol; Richard Berg, Sarah Dikos and Brittany Montgomery, all of Granger; and Elaine Gizewski of Osceola were named to the dean’s list for the 2013 spring semester at Indiana State University. Students must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale to be eligible for the dean’s list.

HESSTON, Kan. — Amy Nussbaum of Union, Mich., was named to the honor roll at Hesston College for the fall 2012 semester. Hesston is the daughter of Jonathan and Rebecca Nussbaum. Students must earn a GPA of 3.5 to 3.89 to be named to the honor roll.

VINCENNES — Patrick J. Gurka and Lucas L. Kling were named to the dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester at Vincennes University. Students must complete at least 12 credit hours and earn a GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale to qualify.

DOWAGIAC, Mich. — Several local students were named to the president’s list and the dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester.

Students named to the president’s list must earn a perfect 4.0 GPA and be enrolled in at least 12 credit hours. Honored students are:

Cassopolis: Tyler Butrick, Vincent Frank, Lorrie Gardner, Rick Pasley, Joanna Sommer

Constantine: Kevin Anderson, Nicklas Barber, Kerri Morris

Edwardsburg: Whitney Ellis, Victor Gutierrez-Schultz, Jessica Mitchell, Alyssa Nasco, June Niermann

Vandalia: Cortney Ramsey

Elkhart, Ind.: Valerie Emerson, Sara McCuddy

Granger, Ind.: Emily Koszyk and Scott Marshall

Students named to the dean’s list must earn a GPA of 3.5 and be enrolled in at least 12 credit hours. Honored students are:

Cassopolis: Joshua Ampey, Nathan Blad, Paula Carpenter, Faulnesa Cooper, Rebeca Diaz, Gavin Francis, Meghan Haas, Stanley Hart, Kevin Hatcher, Ashlie Herman, Amanda Higley, Audrea LaBaDie, Lawrence Litherland, Desirae Massey, Justin Massey, Renee Ottman, Michele Poitras, Sherri See, Lucky Thammavongsa

Constantine: Monique Berg, Jennifer Jones, Kyle Workman

Edwardsburg: Amanda Barella, Jill Bralick, Jeffery Clark, Robin Craddock, Brandi Huskey, Michelle LaMore, Lacy Lentine, Stacie Litty, Andrew Madison, Emily Navarre, Rebecca Pace, Corina Savage, Nikholas Sedam, Heather Valentine, Cody Yoder

Jones: KaSandra Jackson

Union: Kent Rodman, Kimberly Ryans

Vandalia: Kellie Bienz, Anna Brock, Scotty Chandler, Kelly Farr, Abigail Wall

Bristol, Ind.: Chelsey Lynch, Melissa McClain

Elkhart: Devinne Storm

Goshen: Rolando Alcaraz, Justus Brinkerhoff

Granger: Tyler Anthony, Michael Bronsing, Kerry Frazier, Alexander Horning, Alexander King, Sarah Ready

Nappanee: Holly Wilson

Osceola: Natasha Butler

Syracuse: Kaitlin Powell

GOSHEN — Several local students were named to the dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester at Goshen College after earning a minimum 3.75 GPA on a 4.0 scale. Students who earn at least a 3.6 GPA in the Goshen College Division of Adult and External Studies are also included in the list.

Goshen: Corine Alise Alvarez, Philip John Bontrager, Lewis Yoder Caskey, Emma Lynn Gerig, Hannah M. Grieser, Emily Joyce Grimes, Nicholas Scott Handrich, Karen K. Healey, Suzanne Marissa King, Sara Ruth Klassen, Sophia Marie Lapp, Jesse Scott Ramer, Andrew Thomas Shenk, Jacob Levi Shetler, Sara Jean Soto, Sarah Kathryn Stoltzfus, Sarah Grace Toews, Emily Anne Waits, Beth Anne Yoder, Leah Malinda Amstutz, Anika Marie Baumgartner, Stefan David Baumgartner, Sovilla Renee Detweiler, Natasha Leigh Friesen, Stephen John Graber, Eva Madeline Lapp, Peter Meyer Reimer, Elizabeth Leah Schertz, Madeleine Leanne Yoder, Regina Leigh Gautsche, Benjamin Richard Hochstetler, Peter Ralphael Schrock, Benjamin Mark Shelly, Blake Jesse Shetler, Maria Joy Thomas, Malaina Janaye Weldy, Lori Best, Amy Craw, Sylvia Rocio Diaz, Steve Heim, Daniel Lichty, Sharon Mast, Millicent Morros, Brittany Ressler, Kathryn Staten, Angie Taylor, Karen Wittrig

Elkhart: Joseph James Kotva, Cortney Nicole Quick, Michelle Salgado, Micah Ernest Wiebe-Powell, Kate Michelle Yoder, Sara Ann LaLone, Magdalena Graber Yoder, Corrine R. Thompson

Wakarusa: Ellen Joy Hershberger, Alan Jesse Leichty, Jenae A. Rupp, Edith A Fraire

Nappanee: Penny L. Stafford, Martin Daniel Flowers, Kami Gunnoe

Middlebury: Kent Miller

Syracuse: Sheila Clark

Shipshewana: Caleb J. Frey

Edwardsburg, Mich.: Johna Radford

Union, Mich.: Elizabeth L. Reese