Indiana manufacturing group gives most Elkhart County lawmakers score of 90 percent or more

Rep. Tim Neese was the exception, garnering an 84 percent score.

Posted on May 9, 2014 at 6:01 a.m.

INDIANAPOLIS — The latest Indiana Manufacturing Association scorecard is out and most members of Elkhart County's delegation scored above 90 percent.

The IMA scores based votes on measures aimed at things like restricting state environmental regulatory authority, reforming personal property tax policy and reducing the corporate income tax, among other things. The figures were released last month.

According to it's tally of the three senators and five representatives serving parts of Elkhart County, Rep. Tim Wesco of Osceola garnered the highest score for his votes in the 2013 and 2014 sessions, 98 percent.

Rep. Rebecca Kubacki of Syracuse scored 97 percent, and Reps. Wes Culver of Goshen and David Ober of Albion scored 95 percent. Sen. Ryan Mishler of Bremen also scored 95 percent.

Scoring 94 percent were Sens. Joe Zakas of Granger and Carlin Yoder of Middlebury. Rep. Tim Neese of Elkhart scored 84 percent.

"Legislators know which specific votes will increase or decrease their IMA scores, yet I was not preoccupied with a high total, but voted my convictions," Neese said in a statement. He didn't run for re-election to the post, but will vie for Elkhart mayor next year instead.

Editor's note: The article has been changed to correct the name of Rep. Wes Culver.

Follow reporter Tim Vandenack on Twitter at @timvandenack or visit him on Facebook.


Recommended for You

Back to top ^