When are Elkhart County high school graduations for 2014?

    Commencement is upon us. Here’s what you need to know to see your friends and loved ones get that diploma.

    Posted on May 28, 2014 at 12:48 p.m.

    The first round of graduation ceremonies is coming up this weekend — two area high schools have their commencement ceremonies Friday, and the rest follow next week. Here’s a roundup of all the local high school graduations.

    Bethany Christian

    When: 3 p.m. June 1

    Where: Bethany Christian gymnasium

    Academic top 10 students in alphabetical order: Marie Bontrager, Tori Craw, Hanna Hochstetler, Samantha Kauffman, Adam Krahn, Parth Patel, Rachel A. Schrock, Katie Shank, Yuri Teno and Kaley Yoder.

    Speakers: Andy Brubaker-Kaethler, assistant professor of Christian formation and culture at Anabaptist-Mennonite Biblical Seminary in Elkhart and father of graduating senior Lynea Brubaker-Kaethler; student speakers are Corey Hostetler and Katie Shank.


    Clinton Christian

    When: 6 p.m. May 30

    Where: Schrock Athletic Center at Clinton Christian School

    Valedictorian and salutatorian: Madison Yoder is valedictorian of the Clinton Christian class of 2014. Rebekah Stalker is the salutatorian.


    Elkhart Community Education

    When: 7 p.m. on May 29

    Where: Elkhart Memorial High School auditorium

    Speakers:  Keynote speaker Justin Maust; student speakers Rhonda Booze, Gevarria Greer and Mariana Villalobos; Kathy Royer, program director of Horizon Education Alliance; Tom Surface, ECS Retired Adult Education director; Greg Vollmer, president and CEO of the Northern Indiana Workforce Board; and Julie Foster, president of Ivy Tech-Elkhart



    When: 7 p.m. June 5

    Where: Larry Jackowiak Field, the school’s football field

    Valedictorian and salutatorian will be announced the day of commencement.

    Speakers: faculty member Steve Peterson



    When: 2 p.m. June 1

    Where: Edwardsburg High School gymnasium

    Valedictorians and salutatorian: Valedictorians, in alphabetical order: James Chapman, Elyse Clark, Olivia Hartline, Christopher Holston and Anne Makielski. Dustin Long is the salutatorian.

    Speakers: The Edwardsburg High School valedictorians and salutatorian.


    Elkhart Central

    When: 1 p.m. June 1

    Where: Elkhart Central’s Rice Stadium. In case of rain, the ceremony will be held in North Side Gymnasium

    Academic top students in alphabetical order: Sarah Fann, Joseph Hannon, Emily Hoeppner, Mallory Hill, Zachary Manriquez, Christine Medin, Herlinda Salazar, Cassandra Shelton, Anya Stucky, Allison Valentijn, Carol Weirich 

    Speakers: Principal Frank Serge, Superintendent Rob Haworth and student speaker Joseph Hannon.


    Elkhart Christian

    When: 7 p.m. May 30

    Where: First Baptist Church on C.R. 17, Elkhart

    Valedictorian and salutatorian: Lindsay Boussom is the valedictorian of the Elkhart Christian class of 2014. Katherine Zenzenik is the salutatorian.

    Speakers: Valedictorian Lindsay Boussom and seniors Sarah Nolan and Ryan Kupferschmid.


    Elkhart Memorial

    When: 2 p.m. June 8

    Where: Joyce Center at Notre Dame

    Top academic students in alphabetical order: Taylor Bontrager, Danielle Conrad, Delaney Gilbert, Allison Hoefle, Amber Hooven, Austin King, Carly Lochmandy, Delmar Oropeza, Siobhan O’Toole, Noah Pawlak, Chelsea Perkins, Andrew Tefft, Jonathan Ulmer

    Speakers: Principal Mark Tobolski, Superintendent Rob Haworth and four student speakers — class president Austin King, class vice president Haley Stouder, class secretary Megan Rody and class treasurer Andrew Tefft.



    When: 2 p.m. June 8

    Where: Fairfield High School gymnasium

    Valedictorians and salutatorians: Valedictorians are, in alphabetical order, Tyler Hostetler, Julia Landes and Jaylin Miller. Salutatorians are, in alphabetical order, Haley Brown, Sidney Fisher and Jenna Kieper.

    Speaker: Darin Holsopple, math teacher and coach at Fairfield



    When: 2 p.m. June 8

    Where: Goshen High School’s main gymnasium

    Summa cum laude students: Goshen doesn’t recognize valedictorians, but gives summa cum laude honors to students graduating with a 4.0 GPA or above on a 4.0 scale. Seniors graduating summa cum laude are, in alphabetical order: Joshua Bustos, Sadie Drescher, Carlos Duarte-Contreras, Jennifer Esparza, Miranda Kay, Amira Kupty, Yebin Lee, Cade Leinbach, Bethany Metzler, Karis Neufeld, April Quintana, Gisela Romero, Emma Roth, Anna Shetler, Pamela Studebaker and Austin Weirich.

    Speakers: Graduating seniors Sadie Drescher, Jennifer Esparza, Yebin Lee, Karis Neufeld, Anna Shetler, Pamela Studebaker



    When: 2 p.m. June 8

    Where: Jimtown High School gymnasium



    When: 3:30 p.m. June 8

    Where: Northridge Middle School gymnasium

    Academic top 10 in alphabetical order: Joshua Garfein, Melissa Hartman, Cody Howell, Micah Miller, Kaylie Null, Brianne O'Dell, Taylor Ross, Douglas Schnell, Valeriya Skorobogatko and Bethany Simon.

    Speakers: Student Evan VanCuren and faculty member Leonard Beechy



    When: 7:30 p.m. June 6

    Where: Northwood High School gymnasium

    Valedictorians and salutatorians: Valedictorians are, in alphabetical order, Shelby Brinkerhoff, Adam Darr, Allyson Jenkins, Jennifer Leichty, Heidi Morganthaler and Sarah Wysong. Salutatorians are, in alphabetical order, Taylor Fielstra and Kennedy Walter.

    Speakers: Graduating seniors Kennedy Walter and Sarah Wysong



    When: 7 p.m. June 6

    Where: Notre Dame

    Valedictorians and salutatorians: Penn has 16 valedictorians and 3 salutatorians. Valedictorians are, in alphabetical order, Alberte Eskildsen, Josie Gidman, Linda Gong, Kimberly Hochstedler, Kevin Kuo, Kevin Latimer, Eric Lee, Timothy Liu, Cameron Moore, Emily Song, Harisa Spahic, Ji-Yun Suh, Elena Sucharetza, Seungyup Sun, Wayne Zhang and Susan Zhu. Salutatorians are, in alphabetical order, Jessica Nelson, Richa Patel and Andy Wang.

    Speaker: alumnus Rick Singleton, class of 1974

    Recommended for You

    Back to top ^