Friday, November 28, 2014

We've added some improvements to elkharttruth.com over the past three months. Have a question? Contact Ryan Martin, digital content director, at rmartin@elkharttruth.com.
Updates to elkharttruth.com: commenting page, top stories, community blogs and more
Posted on April 30, 2014 at 7:28 a.m.

A lot has changed in the three months since we launched the redesigned elkharttruth.com. Please allow me to share some updates on what’s new around here.

THE BORING STUFF

As a journalist, I try not to lead with the boring stuff, but I think it’s actually appropriate here. We learned a lot in the days and weeks following our relaunch of elkharttruth.com. Many of our links were broken, which meant readers couldn’t access older stories. The site took a long time to load, which kept many people away. Even the mobile site lacked some functionality that it definitely shouldn’t have lacked. It was a very busy February for us as we dealt with these issues, but we feel much better about the new elkharttruth.com. I think you should too, and here’s why.

COMMENTS PAGE

Whether you’re an active voice or you simply enjoy watching the conversations unfold, we all know how popular our comments are. That’s why I loved the addition of our Comments page. You can quickly see recent comments as well as discover which stories have received the most comments. And while you’re on the page, I’d love if you could briefly review our Commenting Rules of Engagement. It’s a better experience for everyone when we all play by those rules.

MORE ORGANIZED HOME PAGE

Our home page sometimes lacked the most interesting or relevant news of the day, which created a confusing and inconsistent experience for many visitors to elkharttruth.com. We heard this concern a lot. We’ve addressed this issue through some visual adjustments on the front end and some functionality tweaks on the back end.

TOP STORIES