Elkhart Truth Logo
Saturday, April 19, 2014

 Come to the candidates forum sponsored by the Greater Elkhart Chamber of Commerce and The Elkhart Truth, set for April 21.

The event will feature the hopefuls for the District 48 Indiana House seat, the Elkhart Superior Court 3 judgeship and other county posts. 

Tim Vandenack
Posted on April 18, 2014 at 3:46 p.m.
 Larry Calvert (left), director of elections for Governmental Business Systems; Rickey Schrag, clerk election worker; and Chad Clingerman, office manager for voter registration and Elkhart County election board, test a voting machine at the Elkhart County Administration building Thursday, April 17, 2014. The county ran its usual pre-election test Thursday of voting machines.

See what Elkhart County clerk Wendy Hudson says voters can expect at the polls on May 6.

Angelle Barbazon
Posted on April 18, 2014 at 2:24 p.m.
 Indiana state representative Rebecca Kubacki, District 22, Friday, March 7, 2014.  Photographed at the Elkhart Chamber of Commerce Third House meeting.

Incumbent Rebecca Kubacki, challenged in the GOP primary by Curt Nisly, blasts the "despicable" tone of the race.

Tim Vandenack
Posted at 10:07 a.m.
 Frank Lucchese is the incumbent in the upcoming Elkhart County Commissioner race. If elected, he will enter his third four-year term.
Posted at 3:17 a.m.

Frank Lucchese is up for re-election this year. He'll be challenged by Rick Easton, a political newcomer and engineer for the Elkhart County Highway Department.

 A few of the political signs sprouting around Elkhart ahead of the May 6, 2014, primary.
Posted on April 17, 2014 at 6:30 p.m.

Morrison leads the way in sign count in the Democratic race for the U.S. House, Cataldo and Hicks have the edge in the Superior Court 3 contest.

 Adam Bujalski is running for Tim Neese's old seat in the Indiana House. Bujalski is a Republican. On Thursday March 27, 2014 he was interviewed by an Elkhart Truth reporter.
Posted on April 16, 2014 at 4:27 p.m.

The Indiana Farm Bureau and the National Rifle Association handed out recent evaluations and endorsements.

 Yes for Concord Kids is a group of parents trying to spread the word about Concord Community Schools' referendum.
Posted on April 14, 2014 at 7:34 p.m.

Members of Yes for Concord Kids are handing out information and yard signs at Concord Mall this Saturday, April 19. 

 The 2014 primary is set for May 6 and the Elkhart County Pachyderm Club is hosting Republican candidates at a forum on April 16. In this archive photo, Goshen resident Kyle Schlabach casts a ballot at a polling place at Shanklin Park, Goshen, on the Goshen school referendum issue on Nov. 5, 2013.
Posted on April 9, 2014 at 1:46 p.m.

The public is invited to hear from the GOP hopefuls in Elkhart County and ask them questions.

 Jesse Bohannon, candidate for the District 48 spot in the Indiana House, on 3/26/2014
Posted on April 9, 2014 at 1:44 p.m.

Reps. Wolkins and Heaton praised the candidate, one of three running for an Elkhart County-based spot, as a conservative.

 Goshen resident Kyle Schlabach uses a touchscreen booth to cast his vote at Shanklin Park during election voting for the school referendum Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2013. Starting with the 2014 May primaries, Elkhart County will now use vote centers, which feature 25 open voting locations and new technology.
Posted on April 9, 2014 at 1:42 p.m.

No more designated voting precincts. Starting with the May 6 primaries, there will be 25 vote centers where any voter can cast their ballot.

 Curt Nisly, Republican challenger for the District 22 seat in the Indiana House.
Posted on April 8, 2014 at 12:35 p.m.

Curt Nisly is challenging incumbent Rebecca Kubacki for her District 22 post.

 The three hopefuls for the District 48 seat in the Indiana House (and their campaign signs), from top to bottom: Doug Miller, Adam Bujalski, Jesse Bohannon.
Posted on April 7, 2014 at 3:53 p.m.

The Indiana House race between Bohannon, Bujalski and Miller will be one of the most intense in Elkhart County. 

 In this 2009 file photo, Ben Russo, left, Osolo Township trustee, and Fritz Lambright, (now former) Osolo Township Board chairman, look over a map as they discuss the need for a sidewalk on Osolo Road. This year's primary includes five competitive township races.
Posted on April 4, 2014 at 3:13 p.m.

While turnout for township elections is typically low, its those officials who collectively control about $15.7 million in cash and investments in Elkhart County.

Back to top ^